Little Boxes

Deb got back last week from visiting her family, so we were all set to head out on our usual Friday rounds.  We found that our favorite garage sale started without us, so our Unitarian Church sale post is missing.  They had it earlier than usual, and scaled it back, so it was really sort of anti-climactic.  Oh well, we thought, there are always the bins.  We arrived at Goodwill at about ten minutes after nine, thinking, that should work, they open at nine.  We were greeted by a line in front of the doors.  Oh well, they are running late, so we wait, and wait, and wait.  After about 20 minutes we go round to the front, and take a gander through the regular store.  Come back, still not open.  We waited for over an hour for them to open the doors.  Can you imagine two grumpier Roses?  We found a few things, but nothing special.  They had better behave themselves this week!

After Deb’s adventure in Shirley’s Land of Scotties, I feel sort of guilty about owning this, but it is going to stay with me:

I have since lightly sanded it and put a finish on it to hide the water marks.  I don’t know what it is about boxes that make them come home with both Deb and me.  She actually likes wooden boxes a lot, but this one just refuses to leave me!  I think this example is from the ’30s or ’40s.  The veneer is incredibly thin; I could barely sand it without losing the design.

While Deb was gone, I dragged this box up from the bottom of a bin:

From the looks of the ladies’ gowns this is an early ’50s box.  The shirt is AMAZING:

Can you imagine a shirt with this fine work being available today?  It was in perfect condition other than some slight yellowing from the box and the small paper collar insert.  I am sure a quick bleaching would take care of it, but I liked the whole package just the way it was.  This was one of those shirts where you insert your own buttons and, of course, cuff links.  It would be difficult for someone to even wear it today.  (I could, because of course, I have a set of buttons!)

Here we have a fun thing for those tiny hands on a rainy day:

I am not sure which one I loved more, the tulip or the goat.  You can see how well-received it was by the said tiny hands, as it has never been touched.  I am pretty sure they were not playing on their phones, so who knows what these kiddies were up to, but it sure wasn’t needlework.

I have a hard time buying things “Never Removed From Box” as I really want to snatch them out of their prison and play with them, but there are some of them that really don’t cause this problem.  Take this 11 ½” doll fashion:

I had to laugh that they included a mannequin, just a partial 3-D dress form really, but they did add a stand for it, because you are sure to want to display that fashion.  In the box it looks like a uniform for a psych ward.  There is a photo on the back that shows what it is supposed to look like:

I actually think that is rather cute, but I am sure that the only way this outfit EVER looked like this, was on the prototype.  After that, it was how cheap can we make it and have it look vaguely like the photo?  I did some looking for Mel Appel (the maker) but there were only a couple more versions of these fashions and a few other cheap toys that came up in my search.  It was made in 1988 in China.  I like goofy clone things, so this will find a home with me for now.

I also picked up this Charly doll at a sale a while back for $1.00:

The doll was released in the ’70s by Durham Hong Kong.  They very carefully spelled it differently, but they were trying to capitalize on the popularity of the perfume of the similar name.  Check out the font used for both.  The illustration is way cuter than the doll, but it is actually one I have been looking for, as an odd clone.  She gets to stay in her cardboard prison, too.

Now this one would have to be taken out to play with, and luckily it wasn’t sealed in:

How cute is that?  We have a friend who loves Dachshunds, and we would have snapped this right up for him, but they thought it was worth $35.  Who knows, maybe it was, but I am ever the cheapskate.

This next item is still in its original packaging, too, but you can easily take it out.  I am just terrified to do so:

I have never taken the blue film off the mirror part, but normally that would be silver colored.  This claims to be a lighter for your cigarette.  I want to know how you keep it from setting the whole thing on fire?  There is nothing that points it just at one end.  I think this has the potential for a useful item for your backpack, providing you have sun, you might be able to make a fire, or maybe just burn your fingers.  I have not seem many of these, so I am thinking they were rather a failure.

This last item is not in a box, but it still hasn’t had a whole lot of wear.  I found this in a bunch of free sewing stuff at a yard sale last week.  I was intrigued enough to open it up:

It’s about three inches long, and made of lovely dressed leather.  Inside I found this:

It’s marked R.J. Roberts Patent Parabola Needles, Made in England.  I have no idea what a Parabola needle is, but here is a whole little book of them.  [Deb here: There is one curved needle at the bottom, but that hardly justifies the title parabola needles when the rest of them are regular straight needles.  However, B.H. discovered a lawsuit regarding Roberts Parabola needles and it turns out that the parabola is referring to the shape of the eye, not the needle.]  I love that these old things took the time to be pretty as well as useful.  Don’t you wish that still happened more?

We did get a few pix last week, so we still have blog fodder, and if the bins don’t open before 10:20 this week, we may throw ourselves on the ground and have a temper tantrum.  Stay tuned for photos!  Or maybe not, but do come back to read next week’s post!

This entry was posted in Friday Finds, Weird Collections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little Boxes

  1. Stephanie Gazell says:

    You got some fun things – love the Charly doll! I wore that cologne way back when. The illustration is fabulous – reminds me of the older Francie illustrations, but updated to the 70’s. Charming! I’m a sucker for illustrations or paper dolls of the 70’s fashions – bell bottoms and such – I just love them. “looks like a uniform for a psych ward” made me laugh out loud. Thank you very much!!! :>)

  2. kathy & deb says:

    Isn’t Charly great! We love paper dolls with vintage fashions too. Thank you for reading!!

  3. Anny says:

    Free sewing stuff??!!! Love it!

Leave a Reply

