Book Review: Crap at my Parents’ House

It’s February and time for some fun.  We were shopping at ARC and saw this book:

Crap at my parent's house

What an awesome title, plus it was half-off!  It seemed right up our alley since we comment on this stuff ALL THE TIME.  After reading it, we know that our suspicions of where our “finds” come from were right!

The author, Joel Dovev, writes in the introduction that “I can’t be the only one who’s a little confused (and somewhat appalled) by parental taste in decorating”.  He created a website, which is now a Tumblr blog, CrapAtMyParentsHouse and started posting pictures.  Then people submitted pictures of their own, and, lucky for us, he ended up writing a book.  He also has a Facebook page, if you are interested.

We both found this book wicked funny.  Some of the offerings are not safe for work, but most of it is PG at worst.  There are nine chapters covering crap in every room in the house.  I’ve selected a few of my favorites; I hope you find one that tickles your funny bone.  At the bottom of the post, you can find out how to enter a contest to win this book.  I’ll add a warning that there are a couple of truly scary clowns in the book which I didn’t include in the post.

First up:

elf-on-a-hutch

Just goes to show how something that should be wholesome can have a dark side, too.

I have never seen one of these faucets:

vomiting-swan

And, I never want to!  Even without the visual of vomit, it’s a scary thing.

I have to admit that this looks familiar:

spider-dad

When all five of us kids, plus spouses, grandkids, and great-grandkids visit my parents, the hallway can look like this.  We were all trained to take our shoes off at the door—do we look like we are made of money?!

This one is a little naughty.  I’ll leave some space so you can sneak up on it if you’re at work:

 

 

 

she-kept-it-hidden-in-the-attic

OMG!

What in the wide world of sports is going on here?

real-racoon-head

If you like raccoons, why not enjoy the ones outside that get into your garbage, ponds, and gardens?  If you hate raccoons, why would you want one in your house, especially as decor?

It takes a special Raggedy Ann or Andy to engage my interest.  I’m just not into them:

raggedy-ann-anyone

I’m sure that sleeping in this room would give me nightmares.  My heart goes out to the courageous dog in the middle of this dustbin of dolls.

I’ve never really understood why you can’t just have a plain extra roll of TP near your toilet:

mrs-grimaceeTo my jaundiced eye, a plain roll of TP is less objectionable than this.

The mantel of male icons:

mantel-from-hellAlthough I’m not sure Pee Wee and Woody are quite in Jesus and Elvis’s league.

Wow, you could write a story about the guy in this picture:

cowboy-picture-in-kids-rooms

Or a song: Mama, don’t let your babies grow up to be cowboys!

Oh, the irony:

cooking-with-groundhogs

I wrote this post on Groundhog Day.  Poor Phil wouldn’t be amused by this!  Maybe this is the stick they use to make him come out of his burrow.

This looks familiar:

condiment-drawer

My parents’ house is practically empty of the crap found in this book; my in-laws’ home, on the other hand, was chock-full of this stuff.  This drawer made BH and me laugh out loud.  There was another picture of an oven full of empty pop cans that made us think of the time we turned on the oven in his parents’ house only to find that they stored newspapers in there!

So, if you’re interested in the drawing for this snarky book, please leave a comment here, like this post, or make a comment on our Facebook page.  We’ll hold the drawing February 14th at 6pm MST as our Valentine to you.  I’m happy to ship this book anywhere, so don’t be shy about entering.

Save

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book Review: Crap at my Parents’ House

  1. tkarengold says:

    The comments in the book are hilarious. Actually, I like the swan faucet but I’d rather see it as a tub filler than at the sink. Every photo is funny especially the dog in the midst of the Raggedy dolls. I’d love to have the book!
    Terri

  2. Stephanie Gazell says:

    OMG, I can’t stop laughing – this is too funny – I love every picture! But I have to say that the “Step 4. Garness with sadness” made me snort-laugh – congratulations, that’s the pinnacle of my laughter – well, that and when I get to the “I can only squeak” phase. I so enjoyed everything in this post and I’d love to be in the drawing for the book! Happy Groundhog Day, the day after, girls! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • kathy & deb says:

      You’re in! I wish we had many copies of this book so we could pass it out to everyone! If you need some more laughs, you should take a look at his blog or Facebook page. We’re so glad that you share our sense of humor!

  3. Rose Williams says:

    This book is amazing. If I don’t win it I will try to find it on Amazon or eBay. It’s a “gotta have it” book.

    • kathy & deb says:

      We agree, it’s sooo funny. In fact we’re jealous that he can be that funny for about 200 pages. Good luck–you’re in the drawing.

  4. Julie Hill says:

    It’s hilarious until you realize that it is your mother’s house but hers is so much worse!

Leave a Reply

