Let’s Have Fun at an Auction

I’m going to admit to a bit of procrastination here, too.  Deb is not the only one adept at it.  My posts usually get written Thursday afternoon sometime, as I am not good for anything after 9 pm.  If I wrote a post any later than that, there wouldn’t be enough proofreading in the world to fix it.

I think I will take off on a little tangent this post, as I had an adventure last week.  I grew up going to auctions.  I have memories of sitting under my folks’ feet at the weekly auction in town coloring my heart out.  My parents didn’t have a lot of money and loved antiques, so they bought old American Golden Oak furniture cheap and refinished it.  Many of the pieces of furniture we both use came from auctions and were treated with love and respect to get to the place they are today.  I like to listen to the auctioneer’s patter, and I get a huge kick out of the characters that you see at most junk auctions.  The guy who will take anything for a buck, the dealer of ____ (fill in the blank), young people just starting out and totally overwhelmed, the curmudgeon who bids on everything, even the cute rocking horse with the five year old hanging on its mane bidding for the first time ever, the rest of the crowd ready to slap said curmudgeon, if he doesn’t keep his bidding number in his pocket and let the little girl have her horse, and I could go on and on.

So, last Monday, I stopped by to visit my folks and found my dad had trundled out to the local junk auction, that for some reason, they were having on a Monday, instead of the usual Saturday.  I decided to head on out and see what they had and what he was up to.

Well, there it was.  An acre or so of junk spread out on the field where they usually have hay and livestock auctions.  I should have taken a picture of that, but didn’t think of it.  Suffice to say, dusty and rusty was the order of the day.  My dad had a list of things he was looking at, mostly fire extinguishers, as he refurbishes them and sells them in his business, but a few other things.  So I decided to hang out for bit and see what was what.  I only lasted an hour or so before I was piling stuff onto his bidding number!  I bought just three things, and I will now share them with you.

First off, an entire lot of shoe-box-size plastic bins for $7.50.  You don’t need a photo of that, but a bargain anyway.  I always need storage.  Then they came to a bunch of mixed lots in bins, and I managed to snag this one for $8.00:

Tub O JunkI was really only going for this:

What I boughtThe key was still taped to the side, and I thought it was cute.  It did clean up very well, and will go nicely with my Barbie vinyl pieces.

The problem is the rest of the stuff:

What I got 1The little Swiss plate with the cow and people on it is pretty cute, and the Christmas girl figural music box just needed cleaned and the music box re-attached.  Not sure about the moldy Last Supper clock or the light up Virgin Mary bust.  The doll is out of a nightmare, and I like the Muppets, but Kermit the bank has to go.

Oh, there was more:

What I got 2Avon bottles, a troll, or Sully, anyone?

Or maybe these two a little closer:

Tony or FurbyThe Furby works, such as it is, and it is an older one.  Not worth much, but I spent an enjoyable 10 minutes freaking out my son with it.  I do sort of like the Tony the Tiger bowl with feet.  I wonder what you would do if your frosted flakes took off walking across the breakfast table.

The kicker in the whole box was this:

LunchThe Alf lunchbox, complete with lunch.  EEEWWWWW.  I don’t know how long everything had been in storage, but I am betting at least 10 years.  Don’t you check the lunch box before you toss it in a box?  Needless to say that hit the trash faster than the speed of light.

Lest you think I have completely lost my touch, and didn’t find any goodies, we come to these:

Abraham Palatnik 2Abraham Palatnik 1I got these in a lot with a couple of nasty resin wolf figures and a rock painted like a panda for the grand sum of $10.  It was everything on a shelf.  I just thought they were kinda cool.  I especially liked the bunny in the back.  We had a little debate at home, as my family was sure the large round one was a snail, but it is clearly a peacock, as it has feathers with eyes.  Each figure was marked made in Brazil, so when I got home I Googled acrylic, made in Brazil and these popped right up.  They were made in the ’60s by a man by the name of Abraham Palatnik, (you can see some of his serious art here) This is the signature on one of the signed pieces:

Abraham Palatnik SignatureAnd what do you know? These pop art figures are worth some bucks.  Check it out.  I was delighted.  I probably got the steal of the day, and no one, not even me, knew it!  There is something to be said for good instincts.  Buy what you like, and you can’t go wrong.  Even if these hadn’t been worth a thing, I would have been happy with my purchase.

Plus, I got to spend the day with my dad, who did get a couple of extinguishers for $2.00.  Auctions rule!  Got an auction story?  We would love to hear it.  Write or comment and we will share it with our readers.Save

Save

This entry was posted in Friday Finds, True Confessions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Have Fun at an Auction

  1. Vivianne says:

    Your Palatnik pieces are beautiful! The peacock does look like a snail but the three plumes atop his head definitely make him a peacock.
    Sounds (and looks) like you had a great day—time spent with your dad and surprise treasure for a pittance. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

