Procrastinate Now and Panic Later (Thanks Internet!)

Holy crap, it’s Thursday evening and I haven’t even started to write a post for tomorrow morning!  I admit that Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes) describes me when he says:

You can’t just turn on creativity like a faucet. You have to be in the right mood.
What mood is that?
Last-minute panic.

I like to think that I’m a much better writer with a panicky fire lit under me, although that theory is never going to be tested because it would involve working ahead. 🙂

I have to apologize for this bad picture.  It was taken in the Unitarian Church’s boutique room which is pretty darn crowded:

Camel Head dress Unitarian Church

It was a fancy headdress for a camel with all sorts of beads and froufrou hanging down from the woven cotton portion that fitted over said camel’s head.  I wish I knew what it was doing in Fort Collins CO, which is a high plains desert without a significant camel population.  When I Googled “camels Fort Collins CO”, just to make sure there isn’t a huge camel breeder nearby, I found this story of a couple who quit their jobs in a Denver suburb to start a camel dairy—I kid you not!  I wonder if they would have bought this for their cow, Big Mama?

We saw this in the Christmas/outdoor decoration portion of the Unitarian Sale:

Goofy Parrot  Goofy Parrot Pal, Owl

I was really tempted to buy them both; it’s hard to resist something as goofy as that parrot, and I couldn’t leave her friend the owl behind.  I think the recollection of how much junk decorates my backyard already was the final decider.  I need more stuff for the yard like I need more doll stuff—not at all, but that doesn’t stop me from buying it.  I can just see B.H. wincing while he proofreads that sentence, since truer words have never been uttered.  I’m pretty sure someone with an adventurous taste in decor snapped these two up in a New York minute.

The next three fashion finds were also noted at the Unitarian Church Sale.  First up, a herd of elephants:

Plastic Elephant Necklace

We first found one of the little elephants laying on the table in front of the necklace and thought it was kind of fun.  Looking up, we decided that one was fun and nine were just a bit much. All that judgment seems to be in opposition to our opinion that with the right attitude and some misplaced confidence, a person can carry off almost anything.

This little formal was so sweet:

Lovely Vintage Gown   ovely Vintage Gown 2

I can imagine sweet young thing, a la Gidget, Sandy, or Francie, wearing it to the Spring Fling in the 1960s.  I really like the white embroidery on the bodice.

I’m not sure whom I envision wearing these gloves:

Magic Motion Lavender Gloves

Even if they were “advertised in Life” I’m not sure they were a hit in real life.  Obviously, I’m not alone in that thought since they haven’t been worn to this day.  Sadly, neither of us can wear this color; I used to wear a shirt this color to work, and my coworkers frequently asked me if I felt okay.  Finally, it occurred to me that it was this color that was making me look sick, not the fact that I was at work.

We saw this at Goodwill:

Frame Job

It seemed like a very creative way to frame a picture, however tiny it might be.  I have to commend the person who ever-so-neatly cut a hole in the embroidered doily, and the mat cutter for following the shape of that doily fairly faithfully—that couldn’t have been easy.  Alas, we drag lots of orphans home, but not his one.  It wasn’t there the next week, which relieves our guilt for not adopting everything.

We were so excited to see this box on Goodwill’s shelves:

Cranberry Set

Ever since the great cranberry server kerfuffle of November 22, 2013 when we found out that cranberry servers were really a thing (Who knew?  Our readers, apparently!) we have been on the lookout for these things.  In three years, we have found three and bought two.  The unpurchased one was so outrageously priced that we couldn’t force ourselves to buy it, even for you, dear readers.  We have so wanted to find one and use it as a giveaway for Thanksgiving.  Oh joy, here is the perfect set, in its box, even.  Of course, when we opened the box to make sure it was all kosher, there was only a crystal serving dish and no server.  Isn’t that just the way these things go?  Believe you me, we are going to find one of those @$!& things and give it away; our honor as black belt thrifters is on the line.

Finally, I wanted to share a couple of things I bought at the Unitarian Church sale:

Hull China for Westinghouse  Hull China for Westinghouse mark

I love these Hall refrigerator dishes made for Westinghouse in the late 1930s and into the ’40s.  The orange color is called “sunset” and I don’t know what the yellow color is called. The Deco shapes are what make them so cool.  They made a great giveaway to the buyers of Westinghouse refrigerators.  I hadn’t run across one of these before last year; now I have three!

As always, thanks for reading.  I have a few ideas for posts in the near future—if I stop procrastinating!  I actually have taken pictures of my silhouettes for a post and it occurred to me that we could do a pretty amazing post on our paper ephemera that we drag home on a regular basis.  If you have an idea for a post, just drop us a line and we can see what we can do.

Save

Save

Save

Save

This entry was posted in Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Procrastinate Now and Panic Later (Thanks Internet!)

  1. Stephanie Gazell says:

    Oh isn’t that cranberry set (well, half a set) wonderful! I love anything having to do with serving cranberry sauce – I use all kinds of old dishes for it, but have never seen one come in a box announcing it as it’s true purpose – I love it! I have yet to find a cranberry “server”, like the one we had when I was little, but I am still looking. And now I make my own cranberry sauce, and it’s not slice-able. *lol* And I’m STILL laughing about the “giant glistening slug” of a cornucopia!

    • kathy & deb says:

      Well, we’re on the lookout for the server too. Maybe you could win one from us! Thanks for reading AND commenting. You make us feel like we aren’t just talking to ourselves. 😆

  2. dorothyeglass says:

    Love the parrot it would have made a wonderful addition to your yard.

Leave a Reply

