Posting on the Run

I no sooner got home from Las Vegas when I turned around and drove to Michigan for family fun.  My parents don’t have wi-fi right now, so we’re in McDonald’s having a snack and logging into their free internet.  The library in my parent’s town does have internet service, but being a small town, it’s flaky, and the library hours aren’t 24/7.  I actually should have scheduled a time to write the post instead of waiting until the last minute.  This post is going to be short and sweet since I’m writing it while my parents grocery shop.

We were semi-terrified by this bottom shelf at Goodwill:

Terrifying Trio   Terrifying Trio are banks

Neither the duck nor the lion/dogs are what we would call good ceramics projects—it starts with their coloring.  In fact, my inclination is to call the whole pile of them pitiful.  I was wondering if a picture from the top would solidify my opinion, which it did, but I also noticed the squirrel hiding behind the front beast.  Mr. Squirrel is the best of the bunch, but is wisely avoiding having his picture taken with his woebegone friends.

Here is a case of the good with the bad:

Bunny and Toothbrush holder

We went to a wonderful church sale, and I bought the bunny planter on the left and the basket for a dollar.  I was pretty confused by the item on the right at first thinking it was a toothbrush holder for a very strange bathroom decor.  However, after looking at the picture more closely, I think this is a flower frog, which is no less weird than it being a toothbrush holder.  I’m not sure what the two women are doing—it’s not any of my business, really, but I don’t see what it has to do with flower arrangements.

This might be one of the strangest things, EVER:

Instant underpants

I know that Archie McPhee is a novelty company, but this is pretty weird even for them.  I wish the tiny tin hadn’t been sealed, since we were curious what instant underwear might look like.  Probably along the lines of those instant washcloths and towels.  That tin is a very convenient size for travel if the underwear were actually wearable.

This record album cover cracked us up:

Neil Diamond

Oh, Neil Diamond, you’re a good-looking man; you don’t need to channel The Everly Brothers’ hair style.  With that hair, I’m not surprised that you were a “Solitary Man”.

We sort of like these bustier purses as a rule:

Bustier Purse

This one seems more “booby” and less bustier than others.  I’m not sure how much stuff you could get in there, since it’s flat except in the cup area.  How could someone take polka dots and make something that I don’t especially like?

My parents just popped their heads into McDonald’s wondering if I was done, so this is the last thing:

Goofy little Christmas Elf

I love those old Christmas elves—they are so cute in my world!  This one, at the above-mentioned church sale no less, looks three sheets to the wind.  I long suspected that elves might be secret tipplers to deal with all the stress of Christmas deadlines.  Plus, I’ve heard that Santa likes to spy on everyone, so they have to be good for goodness sake.

Thanks for reading; we know you all have better things to do especially in the summer.  Keep tuned to see what we’re up to next, and check out our Facebook page if you haven’t already.

Save

This entry was posted in Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Posting on the Run

  1. Stephanie Gazell says:

    Great post – especially for being in a rush. Glad you got some family fun in! Love the squirrel and ladies “dancing” flower holder – and oh, Neil’s hair over the ear – very unfortunate. :>)

    • kathy & deb says:

      Thanks for reading and affirming some of our choices. Every once in a while, we wonder if we are just being cranky, or if the stuff is really that bad!

Leave a Reply

