Deeper in the Heart of Texas

Time for round two of the Tyler TX juntique mart.  A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a post about all the weird and wonderful lamps and lights that we saw there—probably more instruments of illumination than I have ever noticed in my whole shopping career.  But, wait, my sister-in-law, her sister-in-law, and I saw much, much more than just lamps.

Sorry about the general badness of these pictures; it was dark and gloomy, and there were tons of lamps making small pools of light which caused all kinds of problems for my unobtrusive little point and click camera.

I would like to bet that 97% of you have never seen something like this before:

3 M VIntage Medical Display Lower Spine      3M Medical Display backside

I recognized it as a pelvis and lower spine (thank you four years of nursing school), but at first I thought it was some sort of macabre Halloween candle.  It turns out that it’s a vintage 3M medical display, at least according to its label.  The bones are in some yellowish acrylic cylinder that allows for study from all directions.  The same study could also be done using the classic hanging skeleton which also has the added bonus of being touchable.  This looks like one of those ideas that sounds better in the planning stages.  Unless you want to combine skeletal studies with plant display.

I can see that the maker of this was trying to be creative:

Angel shadow box should go back to the shadows

I have to wonder if they were just looking around a room and said, “Yes, I’ll use this, and this, and this!  It’ll be wonderful!”.  They started with one of those old wooden boxes that produce and canned goods used to be shipped in.  The flying baby head (putto, cherub, ?) isn’t anything special, in fact I really don’t like his expression, or the fact that he’s trying to look as if he were made from marble.  What does a glass serving dish have to do with anything?  Then the artist realized that the shadow box needed something and threw a bit of trim into the mix.  Might be time to rethink your whole plan, and go in a different direction.

I wonder how many people today know what this was used for:

Does anyone remember what this is

This relic of a less technical time is decorative while looking at it from above, but when loaded down with official stamps it was functional in the extreme for the busy accounts-receivable drudge.  Most official stamps that I see nowadays seem to be the self-inking types which seem to end up in messy piles in your desk drawer.

This Neatette cabinet is pretty neato:

Neatette Cabinet with Deco lines - Copy

I love the Art Deco decoration on the glass panels—that little bit of flair goes a long way on a practical item like this.  The ceramic top to the drawers must have been a nice work area in the old-fashioned kitchens with no counter space.  Marble would have been even better!

This funny silver server was labeled a milk pitcher:

Silver Milk Pitcher    Silver Milk Pitcher details

The spout was almost nonexistent, so I didn’t think it was a coffee or teapot.  I liked it a lot, but I really don’t serve milk in big pitchers, and I have a number of glass pitchers that meet my cold beverage serving needs, so I left it for the next shopper up.

I thought the two end stacking canisters were pretty fun:

Snacky Stackables

if useless.  Who buys potato chips, popcorn, or pretzels by the cup?  It’s our old complaint about flour and sugar canisters—they should hold the whole bag or what good are they?  Then there is the middle set of stackables in that 1970s avocado green.  Gee, I hope their kitchen had the matching appliances.

I liked this rose rug:

Red Rose Polyester Rug

It was made from folded pieces of polyester so it should be there with the cockroaches at the end of time.  That’s what you want from a rug though, endurance and resistance to staining.  It’s a bonus that it’s attractive.

Sadly, this picture might also be around at the end of time:

Yellow marigolds of TX

I’m pretty sure that the flowers were created using some long-lasting, manmade materials.  Why are all of the worst things usually the longest lasting?  Give me a picture of The Yellow Rose(s) of Texas any day.

Oh, so this is what you do with all those paint-by-number pictures:

What to do with those paint by numbers

Everything is better with rhinestones, right?  OMG, this made me laugh for far too long.  I’m embarrassed to say that I kind of like it now, in its new, blingier style.  It would be a hoot in a pink bathroom or in your pink boudoir.  If nothing else, you could put it in your giant walk-in closet and be amused by it in private.

Does this tin of bug dust look familiar?

McCormick Bee Brand Insect Powder

It should; it was distributed by McCormick and Co.  You know, the folks that put out the spices and herbs.  I kept looking at the tin thinking that it seemed like something I’ve seen before, then I saw the name McCormick and the nickel dropped.  They also made lubricating oils and household drugs.  I just hope the insect powder tin doesn’t look like Cream of Tartar!

Well thanks for hanging in there during the two Texas posts; everything IS bigger in Texas!  We’re going to try to keep our cool this week while garage saling; it’s only supposed to be 88°F Friday so we shouldn’t melt into a pile of goo like last week.  Please keep checking out our Facebook page as it has different things than the blog.

Save

Save

This entry was posted in Friday Finds, Vacation Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deeper in the Heart of Texas

  1. Dorothy Glass says:

    That was a great day thanks for the post. Next time your in east Texas we do it again. SIL Dorothy

Leave a Reply

