January is the Month of Empty Pockets

Thanks Collette, our pockets may be a little emptier after Christmas, but our picture folders are bursting.  Maybe by next week, we’ll be using pictures from 2016.

When we first started writing the blog, there were weeks where we only found three or four pictures.  Nowadays, our judgment of bad is more confident; we used to be so worried about offending people.  After five years of blogging, we know that our readers aren’t so easily offended as we had feared.  Thank you for that!

Last week’s post inspired Steph to send us a picture of a vintage recipe card:

Deviled Chili Meat

To me, deviled means eggs.  I looked the word up and it means highly seasoned, so chili meat is a perfect food to devil.  I’m not sure adding a piece of butter the size of an “English walnut” and several eggs to deviled meat (doesn’t anyone want to know what kind of meat they’re talking about?) constitutes an edible dish.  Of course, I’m the worst person to ask since I’ve been a vegetarian for forty years.  Maybe someone else can try this and report back.  Thank you Steph for sharing!

We saw this fugly lamp and shuddered:

Fugly lamp

I would be tempted to find a lovely shade twenty times too big and hope it covered this hot mess.  If you only saw the wooden base sticking out from under a shade, the proverb, “curiosity killed the cat” should flash in your brain right before you peeked.  Who am I to talk?  If I were Bluebeard’s wife, I would be foolishly opening all kinds of doors.  I just realized again what horrible stories most fairy tales are; add Hansel and Gretel, and The Red Shoes to the list.

Gee, if you have the above lamp, you have nothing to lose with this clock:

Weirdo clock

We couldn’t figure out what was so wonderful about that tooth-shaped piece of wood featured next to the clock face.  It’s probably about three times the size of the only useful part of this decorative piece of firewood.  We looked pretty carefully at the light-colored piece of wood, but it doesn’t appear to be a fossilized anything.  Maybe it’s a piece of the One True Cross, but you couldn’t prove it by us.

Okay, it’s a trifecta of bad decor:

Super ugly mirror   Ugly mirror close up

This big, old, dark, heavy mirror channels the wood used in the 1970s.  It weighed a ton and must have needed some big old screws to hold it up, if you were looking to include it in your furnishings.  Be sure to hunt up some orange shag carpet to complement your mirror.

Wait, not so fast!  I found another picture of tacky ’70s style:

Tub o plastic crap!

It’s all that light-weight plastic stuff and so well preserved that you have to wonder about the house it came from.  It’s hard to decide what’s worse: gold instruments or the hanging olive-green candle holder.  Goodness, they would be perfect if you were staging a play set in the ’70s, but other than that it’s pure trash.

We have a few frightful souvenirs to show you.  We’re trying to ignore travel mementos, the same way we try to ignore clowns.  You only see the ones that push us over the edge:

Bad souvenir, bad! We’re not asking why anyone would buy this, even though a nice postcard would be a better remembrance of Sidney’s monuments.  Then you could buy yourself a lovely opal or some woolie things instead.  By now, we’ve seen so many awful things that people have dragged home, that it’s hard for them to attract our attention or curiosity.  This next one did both:

Souvenir pen stand

We, of course, noticed the shells first, but it only gets worse.  Who was this bought for?  Hopefully, not for yourself, your boss, or anyone you see regularly—you don’t want them throwing it at you.  You can certainly understand why both of these things ended up at the thrift store.  I think that this will be the end of the line for them.  Even our thrift stores eventually toss things out when they don’t sell.

I took this picture from pure nostalgia:

Pine cone purse   Pine cone close up

It’s a souvenir story from my crafty youth.  While in Florida, my grandmother showed my sisters and me how to wind yarn around these little pine cones that were lying on the ground around the beaches.  We made bunches of grapes, and I think flowers from them and then sewed them onto woven purses.  We had garbage bags full of the pine cones, so we made quite a few of these things and gave them away.  To see a bunch of blue pine cone grapes on a woven bag took me back to my youth.  Now I realize that my mom and grandma had an ulterior motive in getting us to collect all those pine cones and then decorate purses—while we were busy with that, we weren’t busy getting into trouble.

Here is another craft that smart mothers try to get their kids involved in:
basket making supplies

Someone must have gone all in on basket making, and then all out just as quickly.  There were even more rolls of materials a little farther down on the shelf.  Unsurprisingly, it was all gone the next week; basket weaving supplies are pretty expensive.  The crafter that found this pile probably felt like they hit the mother lode.

We don’t know what this is:

Marble whats it

The glass balls looked like marbles.  They were glued or melted onto the metal thingie—I don’t believe they moved at all.  I think you could slip a piece of paper between the marbles.  I dragged a cropped picture onto the Google images search box, but no meaningful results.  If any of you know what this is, please let us know!

This last picture made me smile:

Penny's childrens' mary janes

Sorry for the glarey picture, the shoes were in the locked case, for some reason.  If you are a woman staring back at nearly six decades of life, you probably had a pair of black Mary Janes to wear for parties.  The owner loved them so much that she still had the Penney’s shoe box, too.  Mary Janes were pretty shoes, but I loved my penny loafers even more.  However, Hush Puppies won the prize for comfort.

Thanks for reading, and a special thanks to Steph for sharing.  It makes it more fun for us when we get to see what you all find.

 

This entry was posted in Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to January is the Month of Empty Pockets

  1. Oh those Mary Janes take me back to my youth. I had a pair of black Mary Janes that were my church shoes. Not school shoes, but church shoes… and the occasional wedding. And to help keep them looking nice, mom had me keep them in their shoe box.

    • kathy & deb says:

      Mine were black patent leather and so shiny I could see myself … and for church and parties only. I think the bottoms were kind of slick because you can see in pictures that the bottoms of our shoes had a piece of white cloth tape on the soles. 🙂

  2. tkarengold says:

    I had to drag the picture of the clock with the thing onto my desktop in order to examine the unknown artifact better. At first glance, it looked like a madonna. Then I thought it was praying hands. Now I’m sure that while this was being made the crafty woodworker lost his mind.

    • kathy & deb says:

      We vote for the mind losing option! We thought it could have been fossilized wood, or maybe even a large marine animal’s tooth. But at the endo of the day, we decided it just looked like a plain gray piece of wood. Very weird!

  3. Andrea says:

    So, often when I visit your blog posts, I look at the pictures without reading and try to venture a guess as to what you might you might say about a particular item. You’d be surprised how often we think alike. Today, I proved I have a nastier mind though. I truly and for certain thought you were going to say that thing set in wood was a petrified animals penis. So there it is. I would probably offend some readers. Have a great weekend!

    • kathy & deb says:

      Lol, thanks for the laugh! First at the idea of trying to guess about our comments (great minds DO think alike) and then your thought about the piece of wood in the clock. That idea never crossed my mind, but now hearing it, it’s all I can think of!

Leave a Reply

