A New and Improved Friday Post

Okay, enough with the reruns—it’s time to get back to what we do, whatever that may be.  I’m recovered from a fun 4th of July vacation to Joseph, Oregon and I do have a few pictures to share.  It was hotter than blue blazes, so of course we didn’t go shopping like I usually do: we went hiking, swimming, and even canoeing.

I did put this on Facebook, so I apologize for double posting, but it was so horrifying that I just couldn’t believe it.  We pulled into Twin Falls, Idaho about 7:30 pm due to our alpine start of 9:45am.  It was still 100°F, and we were pretty tired after all the heat and driving.  We tried one hotel, but their dog rooms were full; they recommended that we try the place across the street, since they allowed dogs.  That hotel did have vacancies, and no wonder why since they had fireworks booths around two sides of the building.  However, beggars can’t be choosers, so we checked in with the fatalistic attitude that we would go out with a bang.  Even more disturbing was what was going on next door:

Discount Fireworks

Discount fireworks, not even first rate fireworks, were being sold in a gas station parking lot about 20 feet from the pumps!  Doesn’t that seem like tempting fate?  Oh, those crazy Idahodians.

We did some wonderful hikes along the streams and ponds, which kept things a little cooler:

OR hiking    OR hiking 2

For the 4th of July we had the adventurous idea of hiking up a steep moraine near Lake Wallowa to watch the fireworks:

Lake Wallowa

The sunset was gorgeous and distracted me from worrying about how to get down that steep trail in the dark:

Sunset

Several of the houses nearby also contributed fireworks before the big show; it always amazes me how much money people spend on fireworks.  The official show was definitely worth the wait:

fireworks

All those little lights below are boats on the lake watching from another amazing vantage point.  As for hiking down the moraine, all I can say is thank goodness for hiking sticks and headlamps.  It’s an amusing story to tell because none of us got hurt, although there was a lot of falling going on all around!

I did get to do a little shopping.  I was amazed by all the stuff crammed in this shop, and by the prices.  He did business by the book–asking full price for even damaged stuff.  He couldn’t charge us for looking, and he did have some amazing things, like this TV:

Philco TV front

I apologize for the bad picture—I snuck it while the proprietor was otherwise occupied.  No time to check the settings.  I’ve never seen one of these oldsters in person.  And by the way, you can see how crowded the store is even better in this shot of the TV’s back:

Back of TV

He even used the bottom shelf of the TV stand for display!

We also went to the general store in town, which seemed more like a museum than a store. There were a number of wonderful vintage displays like this one:

Rit Dye Display

I had to laugh that they crossed out the original price on the display–I’m sure Rit is much more expensive these days.

Here are a couple of more displays and my favorite thing in the store:

Shopping cart

In the background you can see a salt water taffy display and an Eddy’s bread display.  The thing I coveted the most was the grocery cart in the foreground.  Out front they had put potted plants in one and it was adorable.  Of course, I didn’t take a picture of that!

While canoeing we got to see a bald eagle nest with the young ones still in it.  No pictures of that because I didn’t trust my canoe skills enough to take a camera in one.  I wish I had smell-o-vision on my camera because the wild mock oranges were in bloom and the scent was heavenly.

I still have a little room in this post, so I might as well squeeze in a few finds from around home.  Here are some words that you probably thought you would ever hear from us—a cute clown:

Cute clown

He’s a vintage planter and we just can’t get too worked up about his uncreepy, smiling face.  If you must have clowns in your home, do us all a favor and buy this variety!

We ran into someone’s extensive decanter collection which seemed to feature some American Legion conventions:

Decanters

I have just one of these kinds of decanters in my house, so I’m not exactly an expert.  If I had to choose, I would take the hula girl in the middle–she would be great on a tiki bar!

These two decanters were even less amusing:

Elephant    Donkey

If you’re excited about the next election cycle, you’re a better man than I am, Gunga Din!  It’s bad enough to be forced to listen to all the hot air on TV; we don’t need to be reminded of it during our shopping/retail therapy sessions!  I suppose that strong drink could help drown out all those orange-skinned bloviators.

This was an interesting pairing on the thrift store shelves:

Does it, DOES IT??

She looks a little quizzical about that advice.  I agree that laughter is the best medicine, but I’m not sure that giggling is the fountain of youth!

I wanted to report on the little wooden kitty I adopted a month ago, especially for Theadora.  Little Kitty seems very happy on top of my refrigerator and I’ve given her a few doll hats so her ears don’t stick out like a sore thumb:

Little Kitty

I guess we’ve bonded since I’m trying to think of a name for her.  Any suggestions from the peanut gallery?

Well, it seems like we’re back in the groove again.  Thanks for looking at the recycled posts—it gave us a much-needed break.  It was the first time in five years that we hadn’t written a new post.  In the meantime, our favorite sale at the Unitarian Church is coming up in a month—I get excited just thinking about it!  Stay tuned because we have more fun on tap.

This entry was posted in Friday Finds, Vacation Fun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A New and Improved Friday Post

  1. Little Kitty and the Elf!! I love this shot. Again, thank you for rescuing the cutie-pie. She looks quite at home on the shelf. Little Kitty knows how to strike a pose! What a perfect way to kick-off the weekend. Bravo, L.K.! Now, where did you find the hat? Enjoy the weekend! ~Theadora (I also love the general store! So they crossed out the prices of the Rit packets? Funny!)

    • kathy & deb says:

      Your comment was a great way to kick-off our weekend. I can’t remember where the hat came from so it’s probably a thrift store find. Maybe Kathy remembers; of course we got them for our vintage Barbies and I have at least one more.

  2. Robert Heckendorn says:

    I have never seen one of those TVs in real life either!

    • kathy & deb says:

      It was pretty fun! Can you imagine watching on a small round screen like that? All of my tvs have been rectangles.

  3. Anny says:

    Had to laugh at your discount fireworks story. Sounds like something that would happen to us. Last summer was our first try at traveling with the dogs but we had to book rooms way in advance since our dogs are anything but small. 🙂

    • kathy & deb says:

      We just never know when we’ll get started so it’s hard to book rooms. We just need some more discipline so we can avoid staying in dicey places! Thanks for reading and safe doggy travels!

Leave a Reply

