Kathy says, “There Might Have Been Dragons!”

Hope you’re all having a groovy week!  This is the second of our summer reruns—a very old post from March 6, 2010 called “There Might be Dragons!”.  Kathy talks about her dragonware collection which she started many a moon ago.  I’m sure it’s grown a bit in the last five years.  Hope you enjoy it!

There Might be Dragons

Into every serious collection, some clunkers may fall. No really, it happens! I have been known to purchase such clunkers and bring them home—usually under cover of darkness, so Hubby can’t see! This collection began when I was about 10 years old, and my grandmother gave me two pieces. In our family we have a saying, “one of anything is the start of a collection”, so when you get two, you are practically obligated to start collecting it. Well, that, and the fact that I am fascinated with these dragons. They are all hand-applied, so each has a personality. Some of the pieces are quite fine. The two large vases on the bottom shelf are marked Nippon, and are really super nice examples of the porcelain art. A couple of years ago a book came out on dragonware, and the prices shot up. Boy, was I snarky about that, but the prices have come back down, and I am still able to add a piece here and there.

I have a couple of rules about this collection. Why, do my collections have rules? Haven’t a clue, but many of them do. The first is, I don’t buy multiples of the same shape and color, so I don’t end up with the same set of salt and peppers umpteen times, and the second is, no “souvenir of” pieces. That being said, a couple of the items always struck me as a bit bizarre. Take these two pieces:

Who would think to put a dragon on a Canadian maple leaf and a Dutch shoe? I have seen dozens of both of these, so they made a lot. I think they bought blanks of every description, and grabbed whatever was handy.

Now this last piece thoroughly broke rule number two, but I couldn’t help it:

A souvenir of Tijuana? Now we all know they keep the dragons with the bulls for fighting right? I laugh every time I see this one. I can just imagine the conversation:

“Hey José, I ordered a case of souvenirs for the shop; look what they sent us!”

“Oh well, put it out; some schmuck will buy it”

And they did … at least twice!

 

This entry was posted in True Confessions, Weird Collections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kathy says, “There Might Have Been Dragons!”

  1. Diane Rhodes says:

    Kathy, thank you for sharing the tidbits on your collection! You know how I love it. And covet it. I’d ask you to leave it to me in your will, but I’m way older than you so that’s no good.

Leave a Reply

