Saling Takes Us Away to Where We Love to Be

We’re on a roll with garage sales and estate sales.  Kathy got something pretty cool last weekend (I’ll let her tell you about it) and people were practically throwing their silver jewelry at me on Saturday—for a dollar!  I get that the purpose of a garage sale is to get rid of stuff, but I think you can ask a little more for something stamped “Italy 925”.  How about $2?  😉  All that being said, I was happy to take home eight chains and a bracelet.

We’ve been finding lots of picture fodder; in fact, our photo files are getting like the weeds in my backyard—out of control!

Here’s an oldie from way back in May:

Three headed duck tureen

I’m not sure why any tureen needs two duck heads; adding the third is like putting lipstick on a pig—useless and it makes the pig mad!  The Delft-inspired cow creamer in the background is about ten times cuter.  And we need to talk to them about their pricing–that works out to $3.33 per head.

A local thrift has a senior day on Tuesday which I go to alone because  Kathy, the youngster, doesn’t have enough birthdays to be a senior.  I wish she had seen this:

Just to say stuffed figure    Dolly Gram by western union

I think it’s supposed to be an elf doll that you give as a gift.  I’m not sure what message you’re trying to send via Western Union Elf-gram, but it’s sure to confuse most recipients.  I know it says that it’s a “Dolly-Gram”, but it doesn’t look like something you would like to cuddle up with.

The other thing I saw that day was this big ol’ head:

Big ol' wooden head from the front   Big ol' wooden head from the side

It was more than two feet tall, and when I tried to move it with two hands it almost took out a shelf of coffee mugs.  So, if you like the feeling of creepy eyes watching you from across the room, he was still there at ARC last Tuesday.  I’m sure it would hold a door open against the most determined breeze, or maybe it could hold your vast collection of hats, like Bartholomew Cubbins, but in a much creepier way.

We like how these people think:

Travel sign

We just hope that they don’t come home with a suitcase full of crappy souvenirs!

Speaking of souvenirs:

Banana Boats

I think this is one, but what it is and where it comes from eludes me.  The only thing I can say for sure is that it belongs in a thrift store!

I’m not sure what I think when I hear the phrase, “Inflate & Take”:

Inflate and take  Inflate and take your cupcakes

but cupcakes never enter the picture.  I won’t even talk about the risk of mushing all the frosting, or having your cupcake stuck to the “taker”.  It’s see-through; I think that if you were carrying this in a school, you would run the risk of being knocked down and trampled.  Let’s not even talk about those Junior League ladies!  We don’t think it’s ever been taken out of the package, and with a little thought, that doesn’t seem too surprising.

We really liked this groovy little bird:

Love Dove

Of course we did–it’s covered in beads and sequins in the funnest of ways.  I’m not sure if that’s a stylish hat, or if the bird is supposed to have a crest–like a peacock, a quail, or a crane.  It doesn’t matter because the Love Dove is just so fun and happenin’ that it would brighten up any dull corner.  Of course, neither of us brought it home to brighten up our dull corners, so we could be wrong.

We saw this Magic School Bus on the way to lunch:

Magic School bus!

Neither of us, nor the intern, had ever seen it around town before.  I’m not sure if it’s an amphibious vehicle that drives around Horsetooth Reservoir, or if it was along the lines of the Ghostbuster ambulance that drove around our town blaring, “I ain’t afraid o’ no ghost!”.  I loved it when the passengers got out of the Ghostbusters’ ambulance, in costume, and started dancing like maniacs.  For a while we also had a Mystery Machine with Fred and Daphne cutouts in the windows.  Yeah, Fort Collins can be a strange but fun town.  It might be part of the reason we find such curious things at the thrift stores.

I’m not sure what this is.  We theorized that it was one of those carved cats that has fallen on hard times:Poor Little Thing

It never was much to begin with, and it’s less now without its ears.  Maybe some kind-hearted woman can take it home, put a small straw hat on its head, and tuck it into a dull corner.  I have a pack of dogs on my front porch; I hope someone has a glaring of cats on theirs that this poor thing can join.

When we picked this up, we thought it was a package of champagne flutes for a wedding:

Quince celebratory flute

We were partially right.  These are flutes for a Quinceañera.  For those of you that don’t know about these, this is a party for Latina girls when they turn 15.  Traditionally, it marks the passage from childhood to being a young lady, but I didn’t know it involved champagne.  Hopefully, these are filled with sparking cider for toasting the young woman.

Today is the last day for the giveaway.  I hope someone wants the and girl’s apron and leaves a comment to say so:

Girl and her dolly apron

Girl and her dolly apron

We have entries for everything else (yes, the poo buttons now have two people who want them) but no one has asked for the adorable little aprons.  I hope someone out there is just being nice and letting others get a chance to win.  If you want it, speak up–it’s probably yours.

This entry was posted in Friday Finds, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Saling Takes Us Away to Where We Love to Be

  1. Queli says:

    Interesting items zs always. My Friday is not complete unless I read this blog. I really enjoy it. And I want those aprons 🙂

    • kathy & deb says:

      Thanks Queli for your kind comments; it’s readers like you that keep US going. Thank you too for speaking up for the aprons–you’re the first! 🙂

  2. Poor little kitty! Beautiful markings. I love her expression. Did you rescue the cat?!
    ~Theadora

    • kathy & deb says:

      I’m embarrassed to admit that I didn’t rescue it; poor kitty was oddly appealing, wasn’t it?

      • She looked well-loved! Sweet kitty.

      • kathy & deb says:

        I just realized that I have a straw hat that would fit her–wonder if she would like to live with a pack of dogs? You’ve inspired me, Theadora, if she’s still there, she is coming home with me and living on my porch. 🙂

      • Yes!!! Whew. (Keep us posted on the kitty rescue.)

      • kathy & deb says:

        Okay, found the poor little kitty and brought her home. She seems grateful, but perhaps uncomfortable in my dog-centric household. She’s up for adoption and since you seemed concerned about her you can have first dibs. I have found four hats that fit her to cover her ear shame; so she is fully accessorized. Seriously, if you have a place for her, I would be happy to mail her to Paris. What a change in circumstances that would be–thrift store to the continent!

      • OH! My. Goodness. Apologies for my delayed response. I’ve been away from the computer. I am over the cat moon! She is such a little well-loved looker. You are my heroes!! Let’s wait a few weeks. Maybe the bonding will happen. If not, let’s do a trade. Heck, even if the bonding does happen, I’d like to send you one of my plaster carnival doggies from a flea market. (Yes, I’ve got a thing dog and cat plaster prizes from the 1930s and 1940s.) I’ll be able to send it later on this summertime. Here’s my email address: theadora.brack @ gmail.com. Bravo!! (Let me know what you think. You made my week! My month, really.)

      • kathy & deb says:

        No worries about not answering right away–you’re in Paris! Wow, I’m overwhelmed by your response–in a totally good way. A trade sounds like fun–kitten or something else; I would LOVE a plaster carnival dog. We have sooo much stuff or you could think of something you would like us to look for. We love searching for stuff. Anyway, we’ll do the email thing and figure something out. You can email me at thesecondhandroses@gmail.com or deb@applin.us. Cheers, Deb.

      • Thanks for your email addresses, Deb! As soon as work schedules slow down a bit, we’ll cook up a plan for a summertime critter trade. Enjoy the day! ~T.

      • kathy & deb says:

        Kitty in beret

      • Like? Nah, I LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. (Especially with the fetching hat!!)

  3. Steph Gazell says:

    Kitty looks adorable in her pink hat! Fantastic! ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. rose says:

    I know someone already claimed it, but I would have wanted the adorable aprons. 🙂

    • kathy & deb says:

      Keep your eyes peeled Rose; we do several giveaways a year and aprons are extremely easy to mail! 😉

Leave a Reply

