Much Ado About Everything!

Well, what a difference a week makes!  Spring is just around the corner and the days are warmer, sunnier, and longer.  The crocuses are up all over the yard and my pussy willows are popping:

Croci        Poppin Pussies

Plus, my snowdrops survived single-digit temperatures and snow to look as lovely as ever:

Snowdrops

Of course you know that we get most of our snow in March and April ’round these parts, so you enjoy the sun and warm while you gots it.

Don’t forget to post a comment here or on our Facebook page to enter the drawing for this  hanky:

Give away Hankie

I’ll draw names around 9pm on March 13th.  The winners will be notified by email and we’ll post a note on Facebook and to next week’s bloggy offering.

One of our readers, Steph, sent us a picture and shared a story after our hanky post last week.  It’s so sweet that we would like to share it with you.  Thanks Steph!

So my Dad once sent me an old hankie – with violets – or as he saw them, pansies – on it, with a note that said, “Steph – The little, purple pansy “hanky” may be suitable for setting off a small piece of china or silver or glassware in your display, or as a shawl for one of your larger, more mature Barbie dolls. Only a “Doll” about my age would carry an item like this for everyday use.
Some day, when you are old enough to understand (and forgive) such aberrant behavior, I will tell you (only in conditions of absolute secrecy) how I came to possess the purple, lavender and green handkerchief. Speaking of crying, Grampa Ralph passed away 25 years ago, April 19th. How I miss him!!! Much Love, Dad”

My Dad had a wonderful sense of humor – so you can hear his smiles and laughter in what he wrote. He never did tell me the story of the purple, lavender and green hankie. I’ve had it on my dresser ever since. In my drawers is a handkerchief from my husband’s father, and a hankie I carried on my wedding day. But this one is on my dresser to see every day, and every day I wonder who gave it to him.

Steph's hankyWe think we know all about our parents, but they have their private lives too!  My husband and a good friend both found out that their mothers had been married before marrying their fathers.  The surprising part of this is that their mothers told them when they (hubby and friend) were in their fifties, and there hadn’t been a whiff of the story before then.  For the record, my mother denies a previous marriage–of course I asked her!

On to our regularly scheduled post.  I need to use the wayback machine and find the pictures that have been moldering on the shelf lo these many weeks:

Don't leave me alone with him  Help!

The poor owl sure looks disturbed by the blocky, wooden saber-toothed cat head next to him.  My, what big teeth you have, Grandma!

Imagine our surprise a couple of weeks later when this owl appeared on a nearby shelf:

another wooden owl

We kind of like these ’70s owls; they make us laugh!  But, they’re never comin’ home with us.  We need another collection like we need more holes in our heads.  Of course, when we find something irresistible you know we’ll cave with scarcely a whimper.

These two coffee cups even look fast:

Even the cups look fast

They were fun, but here’s another thing we need like a hole in the head!  Cups and saucers abound in our cupboards, so these stylish German-made ones will have to go home with someone else.

Oh, it wouldn’t be nearly spring without a bad fake flower, fake bird arrangement:

Nice basket bad arrangement

This surely demonstrates Kathy’s favorite saying, “One of everything except taste!”  There is a fun basket in amongst all that frou frou, but I’m not going prospecting.

We did kind of like this Royal Haeger serving tray:

Orange Vintage Tray    Orange Tray

Royal Haeger did make a lot of orange mid-century modern pieces and this could well be one of them.  It must be a kind of rare because I only saw one with a Google search, and there was no information associated with the picture.  If you like Royal Haeger and would like to see some awesomely cool pieces, click here.

This vintage robe/house dress is nowhere near as cool as the tray above:

Polyester Robe     Robe tag

I think the tag was our favorite part!  The tag acts like no one has ever seen polyester before: “… feels truly more comfortable [debatable], … washes truly more clean, … stays truly more bright [true!], … stays fresh and clean”.  How sad that no one has ever worn this modern marvel!

We saw this cute little vintage frame, but were rather startled by the picture:

Vintage Rasberry picture

I know this is supposed to be a luscious pile of golden raspberries, but it is either badly faded or tinted.  At first glance, I thought it was a bunch of icky maggots or grubs, but that’s just me.  Needless to say, neither of us dragged this home.

You know how much we hate clowns–well, here’s a clown purse:

Clown purse?The corduroy was pieced with outside hems that were then pinked for more interest.  There are two flowers, one on each side–purple and pink!  And then, those giant striped handles were the last straw!  If you carried that purse, you would just need some giant shoes and a red nose to make your costume complete.

This piece of clothing on the other hand is pretty cool:

Bob Mackie does Sunflowers   Bob Mackie wearable art

Kathy likes to wear a button-down shirt over another shirt, especially in the spring and fall.  Imagine our surprise to find a Bob Mackie shirt at the thrift store.  The sunflowers are big and bold, but that’s okay since it’s “wearable art”.  The embroidery is very well done, and the shirt doesn’t even look like it’s been worn much.  Kathy snapped it right up, and I’m sure it’ll look super cute on a Friday morning.

We’re going to be on the road separately over the next couple of weeks.  Kathy is taking a cruise with her mom, and I’m going to Florida.  Never fear; we’re working ahead so that there will be posts.  The tricky part will be putting a link on Doll Divas for our dollyfriends, but I’m sure I will be able to get it done from FL.

 

This entry was posted in Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Much Ado About Everything!

  1. Stephanie Gazell says:

    Thanks so much for posting my hankie story and picture! Somewhere Dad’s smiling! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Barbara says:

    Love the hankie story, Those owls 🙂 enjoy your finds every week. Enjoy your trip to Florida

    • kathy & deb says:

      Thanks Barbara–wasn’t that hankie story sweet? Now I’m wondering where he got the hankie, and I don’t even know him! I plan on having a whee of a time in Florida!

  3. Patty Hagar says:

    loved the hankie story, and I do like the Bob Mackie shirt.

    • kathy & deb says:

      Thanks Patty–that hankie story was so sweet and fun! Kathy hasn’t worn her shirt yet; I’ll have to take a pic of her wearing it.

Leave a Reply

