Why the Long Face?

Sigh … Deb has gone back to visit family, leaving me to muddle along through shopping by myself.   Last week, I was able to spend less than $2.00 at yard sales and the thrift store, and that included the glass of lemonade from the cute kid selling it!  It’s odd how much less amusing things are on our own.  I am not sure what that says about us, but it does say a lot for our friendship!  I did manage to gather up some things that will be a revelation to Deb, as well as our loyal readers, so here we go.

Did I say long face?

Long FaceThis cookie jar has that long-suffering look.  Like he is vaguely disappointed that you are in the kitchen snitching that 4th chocolate chip cookie.  Might help with the diet, and then again maybe not–we are talking chocolate chips here.  I think this fellow also qualifies for our tiny hat tag.  At least he is brightly colored, even though he is a little “hang dog”.

Now this harridan would keep me firmly out of the cookie jar:

Momma ain't happyFor that matter, she might even keep me out of the same house that she inhabits.  If it’s true that when “Momma ain’t happy, no one is happy”, this woman is a recipe for severe depression and then some.  Seriously, why would someone manufacture this, and even more pressing, why would someone buy it?  I hope it didn’t remind anyone of their dear mother.

She needs the latest in household labor-saving devices to turn that frown upside down. How could you not smile when you stumbled into the kitchen, in the morning, to see this:

What's cookinOK, you still have to cook, but how cute is that?  Love the Arts and Crafts motifs.  It was a warm shade of ivory with pale green designs.  For the life of me, I couldn’t think of an excuse to buy it, so I had to take a photo and be happy with that.

Harkening back to that same time frame, I came across this:

Nou-don'tIt’s trying to be an Art Nouveau sculpture, but what it really is, is a nasty gilded plastic wall lamp.  I kid you not, cheap plastic.  Notice the light bulbs in the two flowers.  Alphonse Mucha would be appalled.  I adore Art Nouveau style, so this offends me on so many levels.  I could barely snap the photo without feeling the need to grab a hammer and put us all out of our misery.  I think I had the same look on my face as Momma in the previous photo!

I prefer my plastic outright tacky.  At least this little girl’s fashion is not trying to be anything more than it is: a plastic doily:

High Fashion in PlasticYou gotta admire the cheek of the person that pulled this off.  She is actually more on the cute side than the hideous, and that is a pretty amazing feat when wearing plastic.

This next item is not cute in the least.  It is not even artistic; I don’t care what anyone says:

Fish LipsFish lips anyone?  Or maybe it is a fish beak?  Whatever it is, you’ve got to feel for the poor fellow.  Rudolph’s red nose is nothing compared to this.  Bet he never got to play in any fishy games, or pull Santa Shark’s sleigh.

Near the fish lips, the summer intern spotted this:

Cross eyed optimist I think he got a good look at the fish, or maybe the lamp, or Momma.  We have so many things that we would have this same reaction to, so I can totally sympathize.   This was a planter.  Wonder what you would put in it to cause this reaction, or for what occasion would this be a good gift?  Can’t you see the look on the recipients face.  “Oh, you shouldn’t have, no really! ” They might even mirror the look on the dogs face.  At least it would be a good match for your harvest gold kitchen, as it was exactly the same color.

I was told at the yard sale where I spotted this lamp, that there is one exactly like it on Mad Men.  Someone else is going to have to corroborate that one for me, as I don’t do cable.  I think the lady at the yard sale was trying to convince me it had some sort of value, but unless I am set dressing for a knock-off show, there is really no use for this:

Well, it's a lampYou could take each arm of the lamp off and use it for a barbell, and I suppose it would do its intended job and light up a corner.  It’s going to look really odd with the new energy-saving fluorescent bulbs in it, though.  Maybe you could just use the plain squiggly ones for a really interesting look!

I thought this last item was just fun.  A Brownie for a Brownie:

It's officialOK, I don’t know for sure if it is a Brownie, but it is an official Girl Scout camera.  I had no idea they made these.  Do you think there is an official Boy Scout one, too?  As you can see from the price tag, I didn’t bring it home.  If you haven’t noticed it yet, Deb and I are official cheapskates.  If it isn’t a deal, it ain’t coming home!

Feel free to pass along your deals, or no deals.  We love hearing from our readers.  Till next week.

 

This entry was posted in Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why the Long Face?

  1. tkarengold says:

    That is a Brownie box camera. I’ve never seen one with the Girl Scout label. It’s very cool. I had one when I was very young and it took great pictures-no batteries, no focusing, no extra lenses-just point and shoot. The good old days of photography. It is a fair price.

    • kathy & deb says:

      It is a cool thing–how interesting that it took good pictures. Neither of us have ever taken a picture with one. It’s so hard to get film developed any more, but I always loved waiting for film to be developed to see how my pictures turned out. Now it’s instant gratification with digital cameras.

  2. jensine says:

    love the cooker and the light … really cool

    • kathy & deb says:

      I loved the cooker too, wish I had that kind of kitchen. Kathy found some great things! Thanks for reading.

  3. Cool Camera! That mom cookie jar eek what a grim face who would want that LOL may help me with my diet though! I wouldn’t want to eat a cookie after seeing that face!

    • kathy & deb says:

      If we were camera geeks, that little Brownie might be irresistible; it was a close thing as it was. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

