Weird Collections: I Love Doggy Accessories

We need to get a little bloggy business out of the way before starting this week’s post.

First, (sob) the Super Bowl wasn’t much fun for us Broncos fans!  Congratulations to the Seahawks, who were clearly the superior team.

Next, for the Grow Your Blog event participants, here is a link to that post.  We’re about halfway through the list of 600 blogs from that blog party; our eyeballs are ready to fall out, but there are so many awesome blogs that we don’t want to miss one.  To our regular readers, click on the badge if you’re looking for some great new blogs to read.

Last, if you haven’t already, please enter our Grow Your Blog giveaway.  It’s open to everyone.  All you have to do to enter is leave a comment on this post (or the last two posts), Facebook, or email us; please, only one entry per person.  Knowing us, I’m sure you all are asking yourselves what the “prizes” are–it’s always wise to CYA.  

Vintage Feed Sack  Isn't it a prize?

We will take vintage feed sacks and make two prizes–two tea towels or four napkins.  As for the sock doll on the right, well what can we say; it’s a winner just like Charlie Sheen.  You won’t know which prize you’ve won until it arrives.  If you want the vintage sock doll let us know; we won’t tell anyone your dirty little secret! 😉  After all, we went to the cash register with it, and the cashier at Goodwill was appalled that: A. anyone would want this thing, and B. that they would pay for it.  She was relieved when my senior discount (whohoo! being 55+ years old suddenly isn’t so awful) paid for the doll.  The drawing will be closed midnight Valentine’s Day, and the winners will be announced on February 15th.  If we need your contact info, we’ll say so in the announcement.  Good Luck!

Good Lord, all those words and we haven’t even done anything fun!  Sorry about that.

This week’s post is about my collection of doggy fashion accessories–mostly pins, but you might be surprised at the other things I have.  We keep saying it’s all about the dogs for Deb and kitties for Kathy.

Since I seem to have a thing for poodles, it shouldn’t surprise anyone that I have poodle pins:

Oh, sparkly poodles!Here are some of the sparkly ones–ooh, sparkles!  I hope you noticed that I have categorized them into breeds and types; that should give you a hint about the scope of the collection. 😉  Kathy and I have rarely met a rhinestone that we didn’t like, so why would our pin collection be any different?  I have to confess that not all my pins are attractive; I’ve actually bought some just because they are so strange.  As examples, take a look at the two middle pins on the bottom row.  Even their mommas wouldn’t call them pretty.

More sparkles:

Sparkly PoodlesThe red arrow points to one whose head turns.  It’s sort of the doggy pin version of being En Tremblant.  Of course, all my jewelry that moves is of the costume variety.  I would love to have a real 18th or 19th century version with diamonds; that would be the find of a lifetime, right up there with a #1 Barbie!

Here are the nonsparkly poodles.  While editing, I noticed that there are a number of sparkly pins in this group too; also a number of my pins are missing a jewel or two.  Sigh, old eyes suck:

Poodles Galore I have some pin twins and a couple of the same pin, just in different finishes.  Again, I’m not going to say these are all attractive pins; there is at least one that made the cut on pure silliness.  Yeah, I’m talking about you, googly-eyed poodle pin.

I’m warning you right now, these were the hardest pins to photograph.  I never got a good picture, even in the light tent and playing with the exposure:

Dark Poodle Pins

They are all fun, and I do wear them, especially the black rhinestone poodle.  No one even notices that he lost his tail somewhere.  I didn’t even notice until a while after it happened.

Here are my fun plastic doggy pins:

Plastic Dogs Scarf and plastic dogs

I know it makes for a busy picture, but I couldn’t resist using a scarf background for one of the pictures.  I’ve tested the black dog-head pin and, yes, it’s Bakelite.  Here’s a link to its story.

I also have a few wooden dog pins:

Woodn't you love a dog?I think that three of them are hand-carved.  Who knows with the white one; I’m not always sure it’s even a dog!  The terriers that are a chain gang were my first pin purchase from Kathy when she ran her antiques store, Frivolities.  Did we ever tell you that’s how we got to be friends?  I wandered into her shop one day, and the rest is history.

Next up are the mutts,  and the one-of-a kind pins:

More Doggy pins  Doggy pinsSome of these pins are of the goofy variety, but there are a few lovelies too.  I’m not sure why I have a tie clip (left picture, center) but the doberman was just so cool looking, and the price was right, 50¢.  The giant shar pei brooch (right picture, upper left corner) is a signed piece by Wendy Gell, but that is it for notable pieces.

Just two more breeds to go.  I have some dachshund pins because they’re so cute and full of attitude:

Dachshund pins

I know for a fact that I got the bottom and middle pin from Kathy’s store.  We bonded over jewelry, dolls, and a common sense of humor. ( Note, Deb’s hubby was delighted when we got to be friends, so she would stop buying pins, and I would start GIVING her pins! )

And finally, the terrier group, or terrierists as my Beloved Husband calls them:

Terriers   Terriers and Scarves

I have to say these are some of my most frequently-worn pins; anyone who ever worked with me would recognize the sparkly westie (left picture, bottom row).  You can see for yourself that the poor terriers are also infected with goofiness.  I used my fun Nicole Miller Christmas scarf for a background, even though it’s got a lot going on.

I have some doggy bracelets, but don’t wear them much.  Nor do I wear these necklaces, for obvious reasons, but they’re too funny to leave out:

Poodle necklacesI find them amusing, but a little hard to wear with a straight face.  I’m sure you can recognize the ’50s and ’60s whimsy here.  The copper piece was almost worn to a party, but I whipped it off after looking in the mirror.  It takes a certain attitude to wear this kind of stuff, and I wasn’t all that confident at B.H.’s work parties.

I do, however, carry these purses:

Purses2   Dog Purses3

Neither one holds more than a small wallet and your keys, so they don’t work for everyday.  But, I carry these garage saling, to a show, or a party.  The chihuahua purse was given to me by two of my sisters.  I discovered some time after getting it that the front legs are posable.  It shouldn’t shock you to hear that Kathy gave me the poodle purse, which is the envy of many a little girl.

Lastly, I have a straw boater:

Poodle ChapeauIt really needs a piece of elastic (remember the old kid’s Easter hats?) to keep it centered on my head.  It’s a big hat, so it just slides side to side when I wear it, which is why it sits in my guest room, on a hat tree with two 1920’s flapper cloches.  But the hat collection is for another post, and certainly Kathy should write that one because she has some fab hats.

Thanks for looking at my doggy accessories.  Come back next week for some St. Valentine’s Day don’ts and the giveaway announcement.

This entry was posted in True Confessions, Weird Collections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weird Collections: I Love Doggy Accessories

  1. tkarengold says:

    Your dog pin collection is fantastic! I have three vintage poodle pins which I love and a bunch of gold poodle charms, too. Of course, I have a live poodle as well. He’s my favorite. Woof.

  2. You do have a fun dog pin collection. (And I have been with you at a few of those purchases.) I always smile when I see them.

    • kathy & deb says:

      Thanks Connie! Since I’m not working now, I don’t seem to wear them as much. I need to pin one on my nighty so they can get out of the bedroom. 😉

  3. I do hope when you wear them, that you wear many at the same time! Thanks for the laughs this morning – much appreciated. Carry on, girls – Happy Friday!

    • kathy & deb says:

      Of course, dogs run in packs, even on clothing! Thank you for laughing along with us! TGIF and have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Andrea says:

    Oh my, that is a huge collection! I love the black poodles most. Now I’ll always think of you when I see a pooch pin!

    • kathy & deb says:

      Yeah, I’m trying to be a little more selective when buying pins, and believe it or not, I’ve done some thinning! There are so many cool vintage pins out there just waiting to be found. Thanks for reading!

  5. Stephanie Gazell says:

    Love the dog pin collection! I have an old black enamel and marcasite dachshund pin on my coat collar right now! :>)

  6. Oh my gosh! As a fellow poodle lover I absolutely love your collection! What a great idea. Do you swap or participate on any of the pin sites? I have a friend that does that with Disney pins. I am headed to your GYB post but got sidetracked here, but so nice to meet you! ~Terri

    • kathy & deb says:

      Thankss Terri, glad you liked my pack o’ pins! The poodle and dog pins is just a subset of a much larger obsession with brooches in general. I’ve never participated with pin sites; I’ll have to take a look at them. Thank you for the idea.

  7. CraftyStaci says:

    I have a rhinestone poodle pin with emerald eyes that my aunt bought me when I was a little girl in the ’70’s. I thought it was beautiful back then. Now, well, it’s got sparkle! But I do still have it, so I guess somewhere deep down I still love it a little bit. 🙂

    • kathy & deb says:

      Lol, I would have thought it was beautiful then too–and now! My taste just never grew out of the 8 year old–oh, it sparkles phase. 😉 Glad you still love it a litte; if you wore it somewhere, I bet you would get some nice compliments–we always do!

  8. I like all things creative n thrifty and I found you from the GYB party.
    I don’t have a lot of blog time in for I just started blogging when I joined the blog party it was my New Year resolution. 600 entries and I am really wanting to get to know my new blogging world so I am Reading my 482 blog and more to go. So when you say your eyes have been tasked, I so understand. But, Whew a lot of good read and great giveaways too. Funny thing is I haven’t got to mine yet. I didn’t realize how late in the game I got it on. I know the importance of having blogging followers so I dropped everything so I could do the web work. My site http://overboardcreations.blogspot.com/ and contact info is ovr_brd@yahoo.com I believe inspiration comes from all facets of life even knowing the great people out there with wisdom and knowledge the do’s and don’ts and even the wonders of life from a personal point of view. And loving the crafting networks. following you on the goggle connect.
    Thanks for the opportunity to join your giveaway.

  9. kathyinozarks says:

    Good morning, so glad you found me at the grow your blog party-I had allot of fun too visiting all the blogs-so many talented and creative people.
    Your dog collection is amazing! your blog is fun to read so am going to follow you on bloglovin thanks for the giveaway if I were to win I would love something made with the fabric-enjoy the blog party Kathy

    • kathy & deb says:

      Thank you for comin’ on over for a visit! You’re all signed up for the drawing; would it surprise you that there are quite a few people who WANT the weird little sock doll?

Leave a Reply

