When a Find is Good, it’s Very Good, and When it’s Bad, it’s Horrid!

This is a housecleaning post–we need to tidy up our picture directory so we can move on to more recent treasures.  So, think of this as a compilation post from numerous shopping expeditions (solo and joint) from the last month.

Around the 4th of July, we couldn’t find a day to shop together; that hasn’t happened since forever!  So we went to the Goodwill separately during the week.  I don’t think you’ll be surprised that we each took a picture of these yarn portraits:

Really Odd Couple Yarn craft gone wrong
Sheesh, what the heck is going on with those two?  The little boy’s hair looks like two overgrown pompoms covering his forehead.  It’s perplexing that her mouth is so different in the two pictures–a difference that can’t be explained by the fact that Kathy takes way better pictures than I do.  I can’t imagine where they were living before coming to the thrift store–maybe in the root cellar, covering a hidey-hole, containing the illegal stash.  No one would ever think to look behind this duo.  I’m not too crazy about the Native American figure next to the little boy, but it has a ton more artistic merit than the twins!  Don’t be surprised if they are gone next week; they would make outstanding white elephant gifts for a Christmas party.  FYI:  The next week the little girl was gone, leaving her male doppelgänger behind.  I feel for him since he is never going to find a new friend!

We were briefly attracted to this bathroom scene because it was almost the right size for fashion dolls (though why Barbie needs a toilet is anyone’s guess):

What the heck is this?All those red dots are really buttons that make the appropriate sound effects.  It really is too big and weird for its real purpose:

okay ...It might barely sit on the tank of your toilet, but don’t lean backwards or you could crack your skull.  Most of us don’t have tons of extra space near the sink for something as silly as this.  Honestly, if you want to hear a toilet flush–it’s right there!

Wow, we are ever so grateful that the battery was dead on this cookie jar:

Want A Piece of Me? Not Putting my Hand in There

Do you think it plays Baby Got Back by Sir Mix-a-Lot?  Or maybe Honky Tonk Badonkadonk by Trace Adkins, or even Fat Bottomed Girls by Queen if you prefer something besides rap songs!  Okay, I’m done now.

This is another of those “what were they thinking?” things:

Scary FairyWho is this made for?  She’s not tiny enough to be cute and not well executed enough to be decorative.  Kathy calls her the scary fairy, and that works for me.

This chair is so wonderful, that I’m not sure why Kathy didn’t buy it (she said she didn’t need it, which has NEVER stopped us before):

Much BetterI wasn’t with her, or I would have found a place for it.  We both think that it is older and ever so much more decorative than anything else in this post.

I’m not sure where you might wear this sparkly set:

TwoferThe purse is pretty formal, and the flip-flops aren’t, so it’s hard to imagine them together–unless you are on a tropical cruise and are dining at the Captain’s table.  You could be sparkly in all the right places and still have comfy feet.  If that’s not the ideal state, I don’t know what is.

I’m more of a dog person, but even I get how cute these kitties are:

Happy Cats Just looking at them makes me smile.  Maybe all three are just a bit too much happiness, but ask yourself: can you ever be too happy?  Didn’t think so.

These two critters are packed with whimsy:

mPineapple armadillo and Peanut SquirrelThey made me laugh out loud, and I’m not sure which one was cuter.  For that matter, I can’t tell whether the leftmost creature is a pineapple armadillo, porcupine, or ankylosaurus!  A man came up to me as I was taking the picture and debated with himself about whether to buy them or not.  On the plus side was “They are so funny” and then he talked himself out of the purchase by saying “I don’t want to dust them”.  I didn’t either, so there they sat.  Hope they went home with someone who needed a laugh.

I love how some vintage things are beautiful even when they didn’t need to be:

It's functional and beautifulThis cultivator tine (if tine is the right word) could hang on my wall for decoration–if the seller didn’t want a ridiculous amount for it.  I just snapped a quick picture and called it good.  Gotta love that 1940’s green–it doesn’t match any color in my house!

I have a quick story to tell about just how far that someone who calls themself a Second Hand Rose will go to justify that label:

Vickie's free chicken coopMy friend, Vickie, has really changed her life around with a new job, a place in the country, and a desire for chickens.  The powers-that-be confirmed her good decisions by leading her to a free chicken coop.  There was a hitch–the coop was in Boulder (about 50 miles away).  Luckily, Vickie has a friend with a pickup truck–me!  It seemed like an adventure to see if two women in their mid-50’s could retrieve an eight-foot chicken coop all by themselves, and safely drive it to its new home.  As you can see by the picture of the truck in my driveway, they could!  I don’t think my powers of description could do justice to the faces of folks driving by us!  We really needed Granny from the Beverly Hillbillies riding back there in a rocker to complete the picture!  We did have a plan for when the coop fell off the truck–we would drag it to the side of the road and hightail it out of there.  Luckily for our karma, we didn’t need to do any felonious littering.

We’re back on track for next week; as usual a feast of bad follows a fast.  Be on the lookout for an upcoming post about barware, and maybe even a book review featuring:

The Kitchen Linens BookWe’ll include some of our linens that belong in this book!

Thanks for reading and happy shopping!

This entry was posted in Friday Finds, Unexpected Bonus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to When a Find is Good, it’s Very Good, and When it’s Bad, it’s Horrid!

  1. Terri Gold says:

    Loved the story about the chicken coop and Vickie’s cooperative truck owning friend. Please post a picture of the coop when it’s occupied.

    • kathydeb says:

      Well, now there is a new wrinkle to the chicken coop story. The person who owns the place my friend lives in has said that she won’t have that coop on her property! This is after seeing a picture of the coop beforehand, sigh… So now there is a free coop available in N. Colorado and my friend Vickie has to get another chicken palace. We are both kind of bummed about the whole thing.

      • Terri Gold says:

        That sucks. I have heard that chickens are dirty animals. I love eating them.

      • kathydeb says:

        Yeah, they can be a mess if you don’t keep up with changing their bedding. Chickens seem to save up all their droppings for the nest and inside the coop. I think Kathy would have no problems frying up a recalcitrant hen; thankfully I’m a vegetarian and don’t have to make the hard calls. ;- )

  2. Connie says:

    Where was the cultivator tine at? That is just the sort of thing that I would put up on the chicken coop. I too, love the 1940’s green.

    • kathydeb says:

      I loved it too, but it was too rich for my blood. It was at the same sale as the owl canisters, and I want to say it was $30.

      • Terri Gold says:

        I probably would have purchased the tine after bargaining a bit. I love that stuff.

      • kathydeb says:

        It was the same lady that had $30 firm on those owl canisters–her prices were crazy. I love that stuff (like the tine) too and should have at least tried to make her see reason.

  3. jensine says:

    a good mix of pretty .. and pretty -awful

  4. silkstone001(Jeff) says:

    hilarious as usual , im so glad you do a blog it really makes my week gives me something to laugh at.

    • kathydeb says:

      We can’t tell you how happy your comment makes us! Thanks for taking a walk on the silly side with us.

  5. Runia says:

    Those “flip flops” are of course called zōri and they are shoes worn together with kimono. This particular pair is more glam than traditional in style of course~ which is fairly common nowadays since modern japanese women wouldn’t necessary want to wear shoes made of traditional materials such as wood if they go to the trouble of actually dressing up in kimono.
    Without the clutch I’d be tempted to say they were wedding zōri but with it, it’s simply a fab set of kimono accessories. Here’s a similar gorgeous pair with a clutch, from early 1950s: http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3370/3282143917_6fd76660ef.jpg

    • kathy & deb says:

      Thank you for the information; you would have to be wearing a very glam kimono to match the shoes! I wonder why the owner never wore them with another outfit? Thank you also for the link–you’re right they are gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

