Troubling Friday Finds

Well, Kathy cursed us last week when she bragged on the hordes of bad finds from the previous week.  Even with the help of the Spousal Intern, pickings were slim.  Luckily, Kathy saved a couple of pictures, or this might qualify as the shortest post ever.

While trying to write the post, I wasted most of a day looking at the Things With Faces on the Know Your Meme website, and the Faces in Places blog.  This picture is my excuse for being distracted:

Little Teapot is HappyI can’t tell if this is the happiest or most terrified tea-pot ever–there just isn’t any context to evaluate his expression.  When I see these kinds of faces on things, it amuses me to no end, and that’s probably more than you ever wanted to know about me.  I “see” faces in all kinds of things–it makes me feel better that there are a lot of other people who do the same thing.  So maybe it was therapeutic that I researched this topic today, not just a time-waster.  There actually is a name for this–Pareidolia; hopefully it isn’t a diagnosis in the American Psychiatric Association’s DSM.

I’m not sure why this was such a prevalent misconception of our neighbors to the south:

 culturally-insensitive-wood-craftinWe see lots of sleeping-Mexican decorative items from the 1950’s–linens, jewelry, tiles, and pictures.  Maybe it’s because after working hard in the cool of the morning, Mexicans might take a siesta during the hottest part of the day and it’s misinterpreted as laziness.  Of course it also could be the age-old problem of stereotypes, with no real observation necessary!

This battery-operated pig was waiting for us when we were trying to check out:

Pigs can read?We have no idea what he does and no interest in finding out.  My only comment to Kathy was, “Pigs can read?”  I’m glad to report that it was gone the next week; blessings upon the person who removed it from the unsuspecting public’s view.

Out of sight man, what a blast from the past.  I hadn’t thought about the Osmonds in 30 plus years:

Osmond's Lunch Pail containing perhaps One Bad AppleI bet this was dragged to school for years from the look of it.  It might have been worth the $20 if it had the matching thermos, but no such luck.

I’m not sure what’s going on with these tiki treasures:

Tiki gifts say so muchWe saw the Mom-Duane one first, and then found the Dad-Carl in another aisle.  Obviously they belonged together, but what the heck, Duane and Carl!  Did the boys go on a tropical vacation together and this is what they got for their parents?  Or is this some sort of inside family joke about parental-child look-a-likes?  I’m pretty sure we’ll never know.

This was the week of disturbing finds, as witnessed by this statue:

The origins of mermaids?God, I hope they are wrestling, because the other activity is just too awful to contemplate!  Eek, I should have knocked this off the shelf and just paid the damages–my gift to mankind.

Thankfully, I have this cute little thing to end with.  I don’t know if it makes up for the previous statue, but we are trying:

We're cuckoo for coconut pursesThis is one of the funniest and cutest coconut souvenirs I have ever seen.  As little girls, oh so many years ago, we both would have loved this !

Thanks for joining us this week, and be on the lookout for our Valentine’s Day post next week.

This entry was posted in Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Troubling Friday Finds

  1. IngerK says:

    As always, your pics and comments made my day! The pig really creeped me out with its human body!
    A big hug to both of you/Inger

    • kathydeb says:

      We like how you think, Inger–that pig is wrong on so many levels. Thanks for letting us know that you enjoy our blog, that makes our day! ((Hugs))

Leave a Reply

