Burn, Baby, Burn!

“Three things are needed for a good life: good friends, good food, and good song”, says Jason Zebehazy (I wonder who the heck he is?)  Well, life is good again since our Fridays are full of good friends (guess who!) good food (thanks to our favorite restaurant, Taj Mahal) and as for the good music, well, we’ve been known to break into song when the mood strikes us.  We don’t get incredulous stares in public for just taking pictures; the stares are even worse when we dance and sing while taking pictures.

I’m certainly not a member of the carved candle club:

Candle hellIf you really like how they look, why would you want to burn them?  The problem with the non-burning approach is that after a while, the candle becomes a wax-dust fusion that is very unpleasant to touch.  So then you have to burn it, and unless it’s a long evening, the candle will only be partially burnt, and then what do you do with the melted, misshapen mess left behind?  If you don’t like the frog candle’s look, then what is the point in the first place?  I want candles that smell like tree frogs, not waxy, unscented, unburnt effigies of frogs!

It must be one of those weeks, since we noticed this pair right after taking the first candle picture:

Candle hell2Everything I said above applies to this duo.  I would just like to point out the Fred Flintstone feet on the hula dancer; what’s the deal with the painted toenails?

Did you think swan-inspired bathroom decoration was passé?

Glittery swan flower arrangementGuess it’s still out there because this is not vintage.  This little pen has a flirty glance and glitter (you probably need to click on the picture to get the full effect) and the roses are so fresh that they still have dew on them. ’Nuff said.

This is one of those head-scratchers that come along with distressing regularity:

ceramic egg cartonAt first glance, it appears to be a deviled egg plate.  That would be a reasonable guess except for the fact that it’s too small to hold chicken eggs.  Okay, on to the next theory–a desk organizer?  Well, it would probably work, but then you have to explain why you have an egg carton decorated with fruit decals sitting on your desk.  I think it’s a ceramics project gone horribly wrong, and as such deserves an apology from its maker and quick service at the local landfill.

This next picture requires a bit of explanation, so hang in there:

Brocade Harliquin ExplosionThis, believe it or not, is an unsorted pile of those brocade harlequin dolls with painted china heads.  You can see that one escaped to the top shelf, kind of left-center.  We understand the donation to the local thrift; the real question is why anyone would own so many?  They are creepy little dolls at best, and these are not good examples of the breed.  They are way too close to clowns for my taste, which reminds me to warn you that there is a clown lurking further down in the post.

Gotta love Goodwill, they often do our job for us:

Pink prom dressI’m not sure why this slim line dress needs the fake black lace corset; it makes it look kind of cheap.  Of course, it could be a bridesmaid dress, and then there is no explanation needed for its appearance–Bridezilla never wants her bridesmaids to outshine her.

It’s time to send in the clowns (damn you Judy Collins, that song is never going to leave my head):

Clown CoastersI can’t understand why anyone would ever want one clown coaster, never mind a whole sack of them.

This last item is perilously similar to one of those hobo clowns:

Hobo Siphon   Hobo Siphon2
I’m not really keen on the idea of adding soda to my whiskey via this siphon.  To my mind, one of those little boys peeing into a fountain would be just as appetizing as a hobo spitting into my drink.  It appears that his hat is pleated like an accordion and used to pump liquids out of his mouth–ick!  I’m not sure why the thrift store felt the need to lock this guy up in a case; no one in their right mind would steal him.

Well, that’s it for our 200th post; it hardly seems possible that we have been so prolific.  Also our third anniversary is approaching and we have a celebratory give-away planned for that.  Stay tuned for more details; this isn’t your ordinary lottery.

This entry was posted in Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Burn, Baby, Burn!

  1. IngerK says:

    Congrats to your 200th post!! Love to peek in for your Friday finds and fun comments, it makes my weekend! :o))

    • kathydeb says:

      Thanks Inger for your kind comments! We love to share the bad, and occasionally the good; thank you so much for joining in the fun. ((hugs)) Deb and Kathy

  2. Connie says:

    I can’t believe that I am asking this, but what is the ‘beverage’ beside the hula dancer? The topping looks like something my cat could’ve barfed up.

    • kathydeb says:

      I think it’s supposed to be a latte, believe it or not. The label says “Jingle Jitters” and “Peppermint mocha scented candle”. Just give me a peppermint latte, thanks very much. I suppose the “foam” has become that weird fusion of dust and wax–it does look hairballish. ;- )

  3. barbradoll says:

    I second the Congratulations on your 200th post! I’ve been reading your blog almost from the beginning, and continue to look forward to it every Friday! So…what does one do with a dust-infused candle sculpture? Wash it in cool soapy water! Obviously, these types of candles are meant to be viewed and not burned, so like anything sitting around the house, they gotta be cleaned occasionally. (But I’ll NEVER admit to owning any such candle sculptures myself… ;o) I agree those Harlequin figures probably all came from the same person…and as to why they’d have so many, I have a theory: A collector of ANYTHING rarely knows when to say “Stop!” I know this because I’m a collector of many things, and I always have a hard time knowing when to stop! Finally, regarding that pink & black gown: LOVE IT!!! But I wouldn’t love it without the black lace embellishment…it totally makes the dress! It would be just a plain and boring pink gown without it! Perhaps you’d like it better with a RED belt??? Okay, off my soapbox now… Have a great weekend, and thanks for the fun blog! :o)

    • kathydeb says:

      Thanks Barbra for the idea of washing candle; theoretically, it’s good to know that there’s another option besides burning them. One of the best parts of the blog are the many people that disagree with our comments AND write in to tell us. I believe that Sly Stone said it best, “Different strokes for different folks.” All joking aside, thanks for being a loyal reader; you are the ones that make this fun for us!

  4. bethWV says:

    Kathy and Deb, your posts always crack me up! Congrats on your 200th–keep the giggles coming! I want to come shopping with you two–when *I* make snarky comments out & about, my daughter just rolls her eyes and tells me I’m bad.

    • kathydeb says:

      Come on down to Colorado, the more the merrier! Honestly, sometimes snark is the only answer to what you see in stores, although eye rolls work too if you need to be in silent mode. ;- ) Thanks for the kind words, we love that people enjoy the same stuff we do.

Leave a Reply

