Another Year, Another Post!

Ah, here we are, a fresh new year, and a post full of last year’s castoffs.  Well, they probably should have been cast off some 15 years ago, but you know how it is.  Deb and I always hope that when we kick off, there will be someone having a ton of fun at our estate sales wondering why in the world some fool would bring “that” home, and why they didn’t get rid of it much, much sooner!

Take this first example:

tree of....I am pretty sure it is “supposed” to be a tree of life, but it scared me almost to death.   Even the summer intern, on hiatus from school, noticed it, and helped me display it in all its glory.  His best friend, who was accompanying us, thought he had flipped out completely!  We know why it was at the thrift store, we just can’t figure out why it took so long to get there.

On the other hand, I am pretty sure this “lovely” piece of art made it to the thrift store in record time, without even a minute tarrying on the wall:

It says it's artWe are sure it is art, and not some child rolling out creative cookie dough, because it says so on the back:

See told youSometimes art is not a pretty thing.  Take my word for it, it was even less attractive in person.  Might have been much better if they had not slapped the clay on a poorly painted plywood background.

OK, for this next item, I have to admit to a bit of staging.  I DID place the flower arrangement on this particular piece of furniture, but I am positive they came in together.  How could they infest TWO households with this much overdone, antiqued, golden, hideousness?

Painted horrorFor those of you with a gardening bent, but not much of a green thumb, you could always present your meals in this serving set:

Mrs. Wiggs cabbage patchA cabbage leaf for everything and everything in its cabbage leaf.  We really could not figure out what this serving set was for, so if anyone knows, drop us a line.  There were three sauce dishes, each with a spot for a spoon, four plates, bowls, and the giant server.  The main platter was a solid 20 inches across; you could serve your turkey on it, if you felt like a more vegetarian sort of presentation.

While we are fruiting and vegetabling, we have a perfect example of the fruit course:

Last supper fruit bowlThis sort of amused us–your fruit bowl in the round.   It was made in Japan, by Ampco, whose wares are frequently much cuter than this.  I think it must have been the fruit bowl at the Last Supper, as so many of the “Last Supper” decorative plaques are done in just this same “3D in a frame” rendering.

These last items stopped me in my tracks.  I just stood there with my mouth hanging open like a circus clown ball toss:

To all the girls I've loved beforeReally?  I could hear Julio Iglesias and Willie Nelson crooning To all the Girls I’ve Loved Before in the background.  Or maybe they were publicity shots for Best Little Whorehouse in Texas.  Either way, no self-respecting woman would let them in the house.  Here is a closeup of one of them:

Best little...I am sure the minute the marriage license was signed, these puppies were out the door.  No dillydallying for this gal, although, he was probably a confirmed bachelor for a VERY long time.

Frequently, writing a post gives me the urge to go clean out my closets, but luckily I have perfected the technique of letting it pass so well, that my estate sale will be well-stocked.  Enjoy your finds, whatever they may be, till next week.

This entry was posted in Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another Year, Another Post!

  1. steph-a-nie says:

    Uh oh! I am in trouble because I actually like 2 of your “items”. I LOVE the piece of furniture (maybe it looks better in the pix than in person), but I would love to have it…maybe replace the flowers on top, but the vase they are in looks cute too! And call me crazy, but I think the cabbage platter is a hoot! It would be great to serve a huge pile of sandwiches on. But I do get your point!! As always, enjoyed the post! Happy New Year!!

    • kathydeb says:

      I can see that the shape of the cabinet could be kind of cool; I have a problem with the faux finish and the gold trim. Yeah, empty the vase and it’s improved about 50%; those flowers have to go! Glad you liked the post and Happy New Year back at ya!

  2. Deb says:

    I have to agree about the cabinet. The shape is fabulous, all it needs now is some heavy-duty stripper!

    • kathydeb says:

      Have to agree that there could be a nice cabinet under all that paint! Still not totally sold on the urn on top!

  3. Barbra says:

    I’m third to like the cabinet; to me it’s so gaudy it’s cool! But then, I like funky furniture…this would fit right in with my eclectic furniture collection! I also like the rose-velvet-brocade chair because a repeated color scheme in my house is rose/mauve; it’s my lifetime favorite color! And if I had that cabbage/lettuce serving set, I’d use it to serve salad. The platter looks like it would hold salad fixins’…each of the 3 covered bowls would hold different dressings & a spoon for serving, and the salad would be served in the bowls to then be placed on the saucers. Of the many dinnerware sets I’ve had in my life, all of them came with salad bowls & salad plates…so this makes sense to me! Happy New Year & happy hunting! :o)

    • kathydeb says:

      Well, we are open to people liking things in our blog–someone bought them once before we saw them, didn’t they? We tend to be opinionated, snarky, such-and-suches more often than is probably good for us.

      • Barbra says:

        And I wouldn’t read you any other way! Love your blog…it’s the most entertaining one I subscribe to! Looking forward to another year of enjoying Second Hand Roses’ funky finds!

      • kathydeb says:

        Thanks so much for liking our blog AND letting us know! As long as one other person is having fun with it (besides ourselves) we’ll keep on publishing.

Leave a Reply

