Vintage Crazy and Not-So-Crazy Craft Patterns IV

Here we go again–last week, I found a couple of vintage knitting and craft books at a garage sale.  I think they were 25¢ each, and we had way more than two quarter’s worth of amusement looking at them.  How could we not share the fun with you?

The first book had this charming young lady on the front.  Is it just me, or do those earrings look like stacked pulls from old-fashioned vinyl shades?

Here she is again in a sassy crocheted dress that definitely needs a pretty slip, liner, or flesh-colored body stocking:

I love the whole look, including her earrings.

Here is a less successful set of patterns:

The odd green one at the top of the left-most page is called a “crunchy popcorn helmet”–I kid you not!  Hat # 7047 in the right-most page is called a “dashing dome or Crusader helmet”.  Stop me if I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure a crocheted helmet wouldn’t stop many swords; it’s no wonder why so many crusaders never made it back to England’s mountains green.

My grandmother knitted me a poncho when I was a teen–I still have it.  I might not have been as thrilled with this pattern:

The model reminds me of a young Elizabeth Montgomery; maybe she’s getting ready to twitch her nose and fly away, sans broom.

I had to include this pattern; Kathy has a hard time resisting beaded flowers:

At the end of many pattern pamphlets, there are ads for other series by the same publisher.  They usually are even funnier than the collection in your hot little hand:

I had to smile at the dog coat patterns along the bottom of the page.  If I ever went to all the trouble of crocheting either of my dogs a hat, I’m sure it wouldn’t last 3o seconds before being chewed up, swallowed, and then vomited back up (just to add insult to injury).

Kathy and I both loved the sweater on the front of the second book of patterns:

That collar is lots of fun, and there is another amusing collar in the collection (see below).

These patterns are mostly “hits” like these suits:

I just had one thought about the colors: is the red one for those “special days” during the month?  Of course, the beige suit could demonstrate your confidence in your sanitary products.  But otherwise, these suits are just the ticket for your Junior League luncheon.

The collar on the white sweater has pizzazz:

They call it “the Sombrero Pullover” which is a little mystifying, but I still like it.  That pullover has way more personality than any of the other sweaters on the page.  Even the models know it–compare the poses and body language of all four models.  Sombrero woman is the happiest and most confident of all.

There is one thing that remains constant throughout knitting and crochet pattern booklets–male models never look comfortable:

Whatever can be the problem?  He’s attractive enough in a 1960’s Darrin Stephens/TV-sitcom-father sort of way.  I agree that the brown and white striped cardigan looks dorky, but he doesn’t even look comfortable in a rugged cardigan holding a pipe!  There are some good-looking women glancing his way in the left-most picture, but you can tell it doesn’t give him any confidence.

Speaking of confidence, this model oozes it:

Sometimes all it takes to carry off an outfit is an “I’m fabulous and know it” attitude.  Of course this ensemble is tres chic; didn’t you notice the pseudo-French in the ad copy?

Lastly for all our dolly friends, here are some patterns for a 11½ inch teen fashion model doll–wonder who that could have been?  ;-  )

I’m pretty sure that my grandmother must have had this pattern; lots of the styles look very familiar.

Thanks for taking a look at this in-between post.  We’ll still have our regular Friday post, so stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Book Review, True Confessions, Weird Collections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vintage Crazy and Not-So-Crazy Craft Patterns IV

  1. Terri Gold says:

    I adore vintage pattern packages. I have some of my mother’s and I’ve bought some myself. The graphics are wonderful.

    • kathydeb says:

      We love them for the same reasons; the humorous patterns and descriptions are just the sprinkles on top. It is also a fascinating window on the past. You can pick up lots of info on how people lived and their aspirations by looking through old patterns, cookbooks, craft books, and magazines.

Leave a Reply

