Just Say No to These Friday Finds

For days now, the phrase “I’m disinclined to acquiesce to your request” has been running through my brain and of course I couldn’t place it (Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, Captain Barbossa).  This happens to me a lot, and I’m stuck with lots of strange phrases, until I recall where they came from (unlikely) or ask the mighty internet for help (what did we do before the interweb?)  I’m struck by how many ways there are to say “no”; we document weekly that it is an underutilized word!

What do you say we get the clowns out of the way?

You should have known we would have some; we can’t seem to avoid them despite our vow never to encourage them by taking their pictures (we aren’t much good at those kinds of vows, as anyone who ever reads this blog can testify.)  I really pity the poor kid who has clown cupcakes for his birthday party; Mom get off your lazy butt and make some kicking cupcakes so you don’t humiliate your kid in front of his friends.  You could feature: Muppets, SpongeBob (sorry Kathy), Thomas the Tank Engine, Dora, Blue from Blue’s Clues, comic book characters, monsters, or your child’s favorite animal.  Clowns are so 1960’s; who could forget the awful Emmett Kelly hobo clown pictures that hung on living room walls?  I blame those images for my detestation of clowns to this day.  Wow, I feel better, nothing like a rant to turn that frown upside down.

Owls are popular now-a-days, and we are OK with that.  However, we draw the line at these owls:

They look like ghost owls, and seem slightly ashamed of themselves, as well they should.  I know it’s petty, but their katty-wumpus eyes bother me.  By the way, I did a Google search for katty-wumpus and the associated images are a peculiar assortment to say the least.  I’m wondering what some of those folks did to get categorized as katty-wumpus (OK, at the bottom of page 4 there is a picture of Paris Hilton, I get that!)

We saw this punch bowl a couple of weeks ago at a garage sale:

This is one of those things where it depends on how you use it.  If you’re having a beach-themed casual party, this could be part of the fun decorations.  I’m terribly afraid it wasn’t used that way, based on nothing more than the conservative, conventional appearance of the people having the garage sale.  They probably used it to serve Clamato to their bridge club!

What can you say about this basket?

Hopefully, you can tell it’s all about spring; this crafter needs to turn the throttle back just a tad when embellishing.  It’s not all bad; who doesn’t love those little pipe cleaner chicks on the handles?

We’ve seen some interesting garages in our time, but this is in the top ten:

The Pink Panther was on several walls in many incarnations, and the bottoms of the walls were painted that same pink–takes a manly man to have a pink garage.  P.P. doesn’t look any too thrilled with the golden plastic decor hanging near him, and who could blame him.  That kind of crap puts a crimp in my reuse-and-recycle gene; what can be done to repurpose pure evil?

We love the fall for lots of reasons, but it always means lots of vintage clothing in the thrift stores for Halloween:

 

I’m pretty sure my Mom had a sleeveless version of this dress that she wore to a bowling banquet.  I thought it was beauteous, to be sure; how tastes change.  There is enough metallic thread in this brocade to allow the wearer to be lifted by a large magnet, not to be outdone by the quilted paisley.

I’m going to throw in a pair of good things, just to end on a positive note.  If this hadn’t been so large, I’m pretty sure I would have dragged it home:

These stylized roosters are cutouts placed over plain paper; the maker did a fabulous job.  It sorely tempted both of us, but we were having a garage sale on Saturday just to get rid of these kinds of things we drag home and can’t use anywhere!  It would be terribly, terribly ironic to buy this the day before having a garage sale, knowing that you will probably have to sell it at a future garage sale.  We did the right thing, and left it there for someone who will love it and be able to display it.

The last good thing is a recipe from one of those church pamphlet cookbooks.  I’m sorry I can’t give credit to the creator of this delicious bread.

Applesauce Bread

1/2 cup of butter (1 stick)
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp salt
**1  1/4 cups applesauce**
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F; grease and flour bread pan.
Cream butter and sugar until light.  Beat in the egg.
Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and salt–stir.
Gradually add combined dry ingredients to the creamed mixture.
Beat applesauce into the batter, then stir in raisins and nuts.

Bake for one hour or until inserted knife comes out clean; don’t overbake, this is so much better if moist.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes then remove loaf from pan and cool on rack.

**I almost always make homemade applesauce for this recipe–it tastes much better for some reason.  It’s easy:  use 4-5 med to large apples, peel and cut into pieces.  Place in pan, add water (maybe about 1/8-1/4 cup) about 2-3 heaping tablespoons sugar/ honey (or to taste)  and cook on medium heat until apples are soft.  I mash them a little and let them cool a bit before adding to the batter.  I always make extra applesauce just because it’s sooo good.**

Thanks for reading; now be sure to go outside and enjoy a beautiful fall day.  It’s my favorite time of the year.

This entry was posted in Friday Finds, Unexpected Bonus and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Say No to These Friday Finds

  1. Connie says:

    Oh dear… that gold plastic amalgamation is horrific! Personally, I think the Pink Panther may have been trying to push it out of the garage.

  2. Connie says:

    I do have to chuckle when I see the owls. With the black stitching on the face, it kinda looks like the owl is in disguise wearing the fake-nose-with-mustache.

    • kathydeb says:

      They are just wrong–I thought they must be dressed for Halloween as ghosts, but the fake nose/glasses disguise could all be part of the plan.

Leave a Reply

