Three for One Friday Finds

This week was a solo effort on my part; Kathy was in a glass-blowing studio with her son’s class, lucky dog!  So, to shake things up, I’m offering a three-for-one post; it’s a quiz, a true confession, and a Friday Finds post–all for one low, low price!

First up, let’s do the quiz.  I found this doodad in a bag of goodies:

Do any of you know what this is?  The end to the left is a mouth piece; the perforated end is the same on both sides and it twists off and opens.  The whole thing is just a bit over 7 inches long.  There’s a mark, ARGENTINA INDUSTRIA, on the flat perforated piece.  I’ll post a link to the answer at the end of the post.  To be truthful, I didn’t know what it was either.  If you are motivated by a prize, the first correct answerer can  send an address to us, and we will mail this thingy out, tout de suite!

I went to a couple of estate sales first.  One was just a bunch of over-priced stuff, but I found these pictures hung in the garage entertaining:

Someone sure loved their paint-by-number kits.  I think they did a pretty nice job, but good luck selling them around here.  We have heard of folks who collect P.B.N. pictures; we just haven’t run into any in the flesh, so to speak.

This picture was also hanging in the garage.  I had to wrestle with myself a bit not to drag it home:

It was extremely helpful that they had marked it $10, and that it was a white miniature poodle.  When I was a kid, my aunt had the meanest little white poodle (Cherie) who bit everyone she came in contact with, except my aunt, of course.

The next estate sale was waaaayyy the heck out on the other side of the interstate, east of us.  It was in a very swanky neighborhood; the house having the sale was priced in the mid $800,000 range.  Couldn’t see a real reason for the price tag except for the wonderful view of the mountains.  Several dolls caught my eye:

I theorize these well-made fabric dolls were part of a series.  There were a number of them all over the sale; these two were my favorites.  They were a little taller than a Barbie, somewhere around 13 inches, including the hats.

The owner had a number of baby dolls too, which aren’t really anything we’re interested in.  This composite dolly was pretty cute, even if she looks slightly apprehensive:

I had a time holding her up and taking her picture in the dimly lit basement.  She was a little floppy in the joints.  Wish I had gotten to the first day of the sale; this lady may have had some vintage Barbies!

We always look at the purses; you never know when you might find an Enid Collins purse.  Usually though, we run into these kinds of purses:

Honestly, the one on the right looks similar to some carpeting that was in my parent’s front room when I was a kid.  The left-most one looks like it has tinsel on it!  If I carried one of these purses, sales clerks would give me a senior discount without even asking.

Guess I might as well do the true confession right about now, having bought a couple of things at this sale:

At first I thought this was a lampshade with eight interesting 3-D figures around it.  After examining the circular object a little closer, all I could find were four evenly spaced protrusions around the bottom.  So, really it could have been a box too.  It has a tag that says “Made in Hong Kong” and a price tag that reads:  The Jade Tree  957 Chungking Rd.  China Town  Los Angeles 12, Calif.   There is some writing that says IM 1.50  The backing looks like silk; the faces are hand painted on fabric, and the men have real hair beards.  The objects being carried are mostly made of paper and are hand drawn.  Who the heck knows what I’ll do with it, but for $8 it can come home with me.  If you know what it is, or have another theory, I would love to hear from you.

The other item I bought was a tiny silver spoon:

It has some decoration around the handle and is marked sterling on the back.  Of course my fashion dolls need it!

At the thrift store, there wasn’t much to be seen, except this picture:

You can see the recipient loved it so much that they didn’t even bother removing all the wrapping paper from the bottom.  It appears to be made for display in a vicarage; don’t quite know what anyone else would make of it.  Well, we kind of do–it was dropped off at a thrift store.  The most interesting thing about this picture is that the woman is the minister.

Finally, the moment everyone was waiting for!  The mystery item in the first picture is a straw for a drink popular in South America–Mate.  Many of the straws come with a decorated gourd used to serve the Mate.  I googled “pipe Argentina Industria” and it took me to a page with a link to many images of these straws.  Isn’t the internet wonderful?

This entry was posted in Friday Finds, True Confessions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Three for One Friday Finds

  1. Terri Gold says:

    The spoon is lovely. I would have purchased that, too. I think the Chinese item is a decorative waste paper basket. It’s an item that might have been seen in a souvenir store in Chinatown. It’s beautiful. I love the figures and I’m wondering if they can be removed. You could put them in a shallow window box frame or use them on really gorgeous greeting cards to your husband so they stay in your house. 🙂

    • Second Hand Roses says:

      I agree with you about the Chinese “basket” being a waste basket. The bottom must have perched on those tabs at the bottom. Those little figures have so much detail, they are amazing. How funny that you mentioned making cards; Kathy and I buy pictures and “stuff” to make cards too!

  2. Connie says:

    I am guessing that the silver do-dad could be some sort of bubbler or perhaps you can sip that last of your tea from a cup without getting the dregs?

  3. Connie says:

    The Asian piece is quite cool. Are the sides transparent or opaque? Perhaps it was intended for a candle to sit inside and provide a nice warm glow to the room. Although with the amount of detail on each of the figures, maybe one simply hangs it from the ceiling just to admire?

    • Second Hand Roses says:

      It’s opaque; the more I look at it, the more I think it’s a waste basket. There are 4 tabs at one end which probably supported the bottom. I think it’s way too beautiful to use for trash!

  4. Patriciann says:

    There is a bistro in Tribeca called Argentina Industria
    http://www.iatribeca.com/index2.htm
    Perhaps this piece was from one of the wine bottles, used as an aerator? Souvenir, perhaps?

    • Second Hand Roses says:

      Did you get to the link at the bottom of the post? It sure looks like the straw used with Mate, but I would like to drink a gin and tonic through it, with the strainer filled with lime ;- )

  5. Tiffany says:

    Hey! We had that same 3-D Chinese *waste basket* in our house when I was a youngster, except it was black! We used it for a mail-holder, and it sat on Dad’s desk. I remember it was something his mom picked up for him in Chinatown in Seattle, specifically to keep his mail/bills organized on his desk. My grandma loved anything that looked ‘Oriental’…her whole apartment was decorated with that theme! It’s fun to see that thing again…ours has been lost for over 40 years now! :o)

    • Second Hand Roses says:

      Thanks for letting me know about the “waste basket”. I was leaning towards the waste basket after another reader posted; but now we know for sure. The bottom must have fallen out at some point and the owner couldn’t bear to throw the useless, bottomless basket away!

  6. Connie says:

    The paint by number pictures look fairly nice. I remember loving those when I was a kid. They really helped improve my concentration as I wanted to be sure that I stayed within the lines. I have thought about collecting those… but then the problem becomes trying to find blank wall space. But isn’t that a problem that we all have? 🙂

  7. Rho says:

    Its a straw

    • kathydeb says:

      Yup, and it’s kind of funny that we found the whole set–cup with silver chasing, and a nice straw last spring. At least that time we knew exactly what to serve in the cup! ;- )

Leave a Reply

