True Confessions, Weird Collections Style

We do buy a few things here and there while shopping on Fridays–it’s not ALL terrible.  But neither of us has bought anything lately that qualified as a True Confession, that is until a couple of weeks ago, when I bought this box for a whole 99¢:

Such cute graphics, and the box is in great shape.  A very nice vintage Christmas item, and it dovetails nicely into two different collections:  boxes and vintage Christmas decorations.  This post is about the boxes; maybe Kathy and I will do a vintage Christmas post later next month, in our copious free time.

My love affair with boxes is a life-long affliction.  I always had my toys in cigar boxes, or other boxes I scrounged.  To this day, they are all over my house trying to be useful and decorative.  The vast majority of my boxes are wooden, but I have tin, fabric, and paper boxes as well.  This affection for boxes may be an outgrowth of being a major pack rat, who happens to organize her stuff.  Boxes are very helpful for keeping things together, such as old postcards, buttons, and rocks,  but I suspect that I might still have boxes, even if they weren’t used for storage.

Lots of the boxes I pick up are in the souvenir category:

I like them best if they are from somewhere I’ve been before, but it’s not necessary, if the box is cool enough.

Some were probably sold as jewelry boxes:

This is a lovely box that Kathy gave me.  She had to do some repairs, but now it sits nicely on my mantle and holds old birthday, Christmas, etc… cards.  The box is made of maple and has a ton of carving on it, which makes it a little different from the souvenir boxes.  They are usually pine or cedar (or some combination) and have minimal or no carving.

Then there are handmade boxes:

The Scotty box in the front is a cigarette box, I think.  You slide the Scotty back, and the box opens.  The smaller round box in the back is also handmade, with the decoration applied over blue paint.  The googly-eyed dog in the back holds matches, and has a strike plate under his tail, another gift from Kathy, who knows me too well!

And a couple more handmade boxes that sit on the mantle:

I’m not sure what wood the box on the left is made from, but the Shaker box is pine with wonderful hand decoration, another gift from friends who may have noticed the other boxes stacked around the house.

This next wheel barrow box is also handmade, and probably is tramp art:

a

The little wheel at the front of the barrow really spins.

This next box is the most expensive one I own; I paid $20 for it at a garage sale and it’s worth every penny:

The print is Speed by Louis Icart, on a carved Andes Candies of Chicago box.  Icart did wonderful pictures of women, frequently in the company of animals.  I was drawn to the dogs, of course, but the box is pretty cool all by itself.

Finally, just so you don’t think I only have a few boxes:

I try to be picky, but it’s really hard.  Most boxes talk to me in an insistent way, “Take me home!”, and I cave.  Talk about twisting my rubber arm!

This entry was posted in True Confessions, Weird Collections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to True Confessions, Weird Collections Style

  1. Connie says:

    I know what you mean about boxes as there are several around the house, trying to be useful. My first box was given to me when I was 12 by my mother who passed down her dad’s cigar box in which she used to store various treasures: bobby pins, ribbons, and assorted rubber bands. So I guess that I have come by my box addiction naturally.

  2. Megan says:

    I have the same Andes Candies box. It was my Grandma’s. When do you think that box was made?

    • kathy & deb says:

      Well, it’s hard to pin down exactly. Louis Icart did the print, Speed. in 1927, and Andes Candies started in 1920, so that’s the far end of the spectrum. I kind of think it could be from anywhere in the late 1920s all the way to the 1950s, but no later than that. Icart is valuable and popular all by himself, and these are signed prints. I keep searching, but I haven’t found one for sale on the internet. It would be a great item to take to Antique’s Roadshow.

Leave a Reply

