Well…It’s a Bargain!

As promised, here is my True Confession for this week.

We went to a garage sale on Friday.  We had been to previous sales put on by this lady; she is quite a collector, and has a great eye.  She cares for her mother and has changed the focus of her collecting, but that isn’t to say she went down easily.  There was some waffling about whether she really wanted to sell the item I bought.  It’s a huge, 20×18 inches, leather-bound, cloth-covered book which appears to be a tailor’s sample book.  The title is:  M. BORN & COMPANY.  THE OLDEST AND LARGEST WHOLESALE TAILORS IN THE WORLD   FALL-WINTER 1920-21

The pages are really thick, thicker than poster board, but not as thick as card board.

The reason I plunked $30 on this book, plus a Liberty box, pins, a dog, and 1/4 inch tall Christmas decorations, are these:

There are 39 prints all together, some fairly common (see the Hawaiian Maiden) and others rarer (the numerous small prints).  What I’m betting, is that I can get these prints out of the book, without ruining them, or hopefully, the book.

I have done this before, kind of.  Last summer, we bought loose pages out of a scrapbook from this same lady.  On Kathy’s advice, I soaked the pages with water to dissolve the old glue.  It worked like magic, the prints just peeled off the pages.  I then dried them on paper towels, placed over a rack.  Kathy always dries her prints between two paper towels placed between two pieces of glass; she changes the paper towels as needed.  I just didn’t have enough glass to do all the prints I had removed; there were 12 prints on each side of a page.  I think the glass method would keep the prints from getting wavy, or wrinkled.  After my prints had dried, they were placed in heavy books, for quite a while.  Eventually, they laid flat again.  The glass plates would eliminate that lengthy step.

I’m going to experiment on a small print on the inside cover; hopefully the print will lift off with sufficient water.  I would like to keep the book; it seems to have some cool illustrations, as you can see to the side of the St. Bernard print.  Here is another picture of an illustration, next to a glued-in print:

I’ll let you know how it goes; might just be keeping things as they are.  The prints don’t seem to faded, or discolored, as happens on acidic paper.

I did take the 1950’s picture (True Confessions) to a local framing store to see what needed to be fixed.  The fellow who waited on me was most enthusiastic; he liked the picture, and LOVED the frame.  He had never seen anything quite like it, and said that he is going to make one for himself.  Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery; I like to have my taste validated!

This entry was posted in True Confessions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well…It’s a Bargain!

  1. Beth says:

    I would love to talk to you about your book! I have one as well that appears to be an older version of what you have, up to this point I have not been able to find any value and wondered if you knew if any of the prints were of value! I really look forward to hearing from you

    • kathydeb says:

      How cool that you have a similar book! I have never found another men’s fashion book like it. I have no idea as to the value–sorry.

  2. Beth says:

    Oh ANNND the only other ive seen so far online is here
    http://www.nmni.com/uafp/Collections/Textiles—Costume/Costume/Men-s-Clothing
    a museum in Ireland!

Leave a Reply

